Nordic

Be better than yesterday: Marketa Davidova

Czech biathlete Marketa Davidova joined the Fischer Race Family in the spring of 2022 and found immediate success during summer competitions winning the 2022 Summer World Championships on rollerskis as well as the 2022 Martin Fourcade Nordic Festival.

Marketa Davidova grew up in the mountains of the Czech Republic and thus began skiing at about the same time she started walking, if not sooner. She broke through on the international stage in 2018 when she won a silver and a gold medal at the 2018 Biathlon Junior World Championships in Otepää, Estonia.

Welcome in the #FischerRaceFamily! How come you decided to work with Fischer? Thank you 😊I am happy to be here. After the Olympics, it’s often the time of big changes and searching for new impulses for both the athletes and the whole team. And as for me, this is one of them.

When did you start skiing and when did you start Biathlon?

I started maybe even earlier than walking. I have photos from me on skis at a very young age, because I am from mountains, so it was natural to start skiing. And I joined the Biathlon club in 2010.

What is your favorite place to compete and why?

I think this is Anterselva, because I like Italy and there is almost always nice and sunny weather - and of course NMNM (Nove Mesto), because competing in front of the home crowd is the best.

What is your favorite discipline and why?

For a long time it was the sprint, because there are only two shooting. But now I prefere the mass start. I like more the contact with other competitors and longer distances.

What is your favorite training?

I think I don’t have a favorite training. But if I have to choose, I like trainings in the gym and on mountainbike.

What kind of training do you not like?

Definitely long double poling trainings.

What was your biggest breakthrough in your ski career?

It is hard to say. But I remember one moment when I said to me “ok, now you can fight with the stars, you were watching in the TV”. This was, when I was third in Pokljuka, reaching my first big podium.

What are the top 3 things we should know about you? 

1. 🦄 unicorn always

2. I am having a bad day if I don’t have a porridge for breakfast.

3. I have a master degree from animal nutrition and reproductive biotechnology.

What was your dream job when you were a child?

I always wanted to become a vet. And this dream is still on.

What is your favorite quote or personal motto?

Be better than yesterday

Favorite pastime / hobbies (besides skiing, of course)?

Horse riding. If I am not on the training, you will always find me in the stables. When I have time in winter, I go snowboarding.

Where have you not been that you want to go to?

I don’t have a place, but I am looking forward to times, where I can go for holiday without running shoes.

What are your future goals/projects/dreams/ambitions?

This question is always hard for me. I think I want to do my best and be happy with myself as an athlete but also as a human.