Norway wins team sprint in nordic combined

Jørgen Graabak (NOR, Fischer ***) and Jarl Magnus Riiber (NOR, Fischer ***) won the team sprint in Lahti, Finland. Second place went to Terence Weber (GER, Fischer ***) and Manuel Faißt (GER) ahead of Johannes Rydzek (GER, Fischer ***) and Vincent Geiger (GER, Fischer ***).

The Norwegians started the cross-country race with a lead of only seven seconds over the first chasers, although Riiber showed the longest jump and Graabak jumped only five meters shorter. Behind them formed a chase duo with Ryota Yamamota (JPN, Fischer ***) and Akito Watabe (JPN, Fischer ***) as well as Terence Weber and Manuel Faißt, until Watabe got his pole between his legs on his way to the sixth handover, crashed and the Japanese team fell behind. Now the slower German had to secure second place ahead of the pursuers, including the fast German duo Rydzek/Geiger, who started 1:13 minutes behind. On the final lap the group caught up with the Japanese and Vinzenz Geiger launched the decisive attack to put the Norwegians Espen Bjørnstad (NOR, Fischer ***) and Espen Andersen (NOR, Fischer ***) in fourth place. Lukas Klapfer (AUT) and Martin Fritz (AUT, Fischer ***) took fifth place ahead of Thomas Jöbstl (AUT) and Philipp Orter (AUT, Fischer ***) and the Japanese.

=> HS130/2x7,5 Kilometer Lahti (FIN)

* = Fischer skis

** = Fischer skis and bindings

*** = Fischer skis, bindings and boots