German ski jumpers couldn't be beaten

Constantin Schmid (GER), Markus Eisenbichler (GER, Fischer), Stephan Leyhe (GER) and Karl Geiger (GER, Fischer) are the winners of the team ski jump in Zakopane. Second place went to Norway followed by the Slovenes around Peter Prevc (SLO, Fischer).

Despite a short first jump by Constantin Schmid, the German ski jumpers proved to be unbeatable. In both rounds they were 20 points stronger than the Norwegians Marius Lindvik (NOR), Robert Johansson (NOR), Daniel Andre Tande (NOR) and Johan Andre Forfang (NOR), who took second place with 40 points behind. In the German team, Markus Eisenbichler showed two strong jumps in his comeback to the World Cup, because of his capsule injury he jumped with a splint on his right hand: "I don't notice that during the jump, only when I land, and it takes a lot longer to get dressed, you have to plan more time for the preparation." The team from Slovenia narrowly secured third place on the podium with Anze Lanisek (SLO), Domen Prevc (SLO), Timi Zajc (SLO) and Peter Prevc, closely followed by the Japanese Yukiya Sato (JPN), Keiichi Sato (JPN, Fischer), Junshiro and Ryoyu Kobayashi (both JPN). Just behind them were the Poles Piotr Zyla (POL), Jakub Wolny (POL), Kamil Stoch (POL, Fischer) and Dawid Kubacki (POL), ahead of the Austrians Philipp Aschenwald (AUT, Fischer), Michael Hayböck (AUT, Fischer), Daniel Huber (AUT, Fischer) and Stefan Kraft (AUT, Fischer) - Slovenia and Austria separated only ten points. An important reason that Austria could not jump on the podium was Stefan Kraft. The Austrian suffered a lumbago after yesterday's qualification and needed a painkiller injection before the competition. Despite that, he couldn't show what he was used to.

=> HS140 Team Zakopane (POL)