Krzysztof Biegun (POL)
Andreas Wellinger (GER), Krzysztof Biegun (POL), Jurij Tepes (SLO) (l-r)
Jurij Tepes (SLO)
Maciej Kot (POL)
Piotr Zyla (POL)


Krzysztof Biegun (POL, Fischer) succeeded at stormy conditions with his first World Cup win after just one round. He triumphated ahead of Andreas Wellinger (GER) and Jurij Tepes (SLO, Fischer).
Biegun winning on all accounts
Although nearly the whole World Cup opener in Klingenthal was affected by gusts of wind and today's competition started more than two hours later than scheduled one thing is totally clear: The young Krzysztof Biegun (19) has finally arrived in the Polish World Cup team. The youngster who only took place in skiflying World Cup event in Oberstdorf last winter and put everyone through their paces in this year's summer grandprix benefitted of bib number five and a strong up wind und set 142.5 metres. After his great jump the inrun length was reduced by two gates and his opponents had to deal with shorter inrun and gusts of wind. Third went to Slovenian Jurij Tepes with 134.5 metres who had conditions like Biegun. Taku Takeuchi (JPN, Fischer) came in fourth followed by the Polish Piotr Zyla and Maciej Kot (both POL, Fischer). Simon Ammann (SUI, Fischer) finished seventh ahead of the German newcomer Marinus Kraus (GER, Fischer). With Gregor Deschwanden (SUI, Fischer) another Swiss mad a top ten result. At the end of the 90 minutes long competition round the last two athletes Anders Bardal (NOR, Fischer) and Gregor Schlierenzauer (AUT, Fischer) resigned the competition in protest due to the conditions.
HS140, Klingenthal (GER):
1. Krzysztof Biegun
POL 142.5 135.8
2. Andreas Wellinger
GER 132 132.8
3. Jurij Tepes
SLO 134.5 131.4
4. Taku Takeuchi
JPN 132.5 130.7
5. Piotr Zyla
POL 136 130.6
6. Maciej Kot
POL 132 127.6
7. Simon Ammann
SUI 133 125.8
8. Marinus Kraus
GER 131.5 125.6
9. Jan Ziobro
POL 134.5 125.2
10. Gregor Deschwanden
SUI 133 120.1
11. Manuel Fettner
AUT 135.5 120
12. Jakub Janda
CZE 137 116.9
13. Ole Marius Ingvaldsen
NOR 131 116.5
14. Stefan Kraft
AUT 122 116
15. Thomas Morgenstern
AUT 126 115.4