Therese Johaug (NOR)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Therese Johaug (NOR), Heidi Weng (NOR) (l-r)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Therese Johaug (NOR), Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR)
Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR)
Alex Harvey (CAN), Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR), Alexander Legkov (RUS) (l-r)
Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR), Alex Harvey (CAN)


Therese Johaug (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) and Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) are the winner of the World Cup final in Falun (SWE) and the overall World Cup ranking as well. Marit Bjørgen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) and Alex Harvey (CAN, Fischer) finished in second today.
Johaug storms to the overall World Cup success
Therese Johaug finally made it. After several attemps where her opponents have been stronger she secured victory in World Cup final and also in overall World Cup. Therese Johaug was extremely relaxed before the start and started first with a 15 seconds advantage into today's free technique handicap race. After the 34-year-old Bjørgen even shortened the gap by five seconds during the first 2.5k rotation Therese Johaug extended her lead more and more. After crossing the line 29 seconds seperated both Norwegians. Kerttu Niskanen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots) was shortly beaten in the final sprint for third spot, Charlotte Kalla (SWE, Fischer) dropped back to fifth spot. Yulia Tchekaleva (RUS, Fischer) and Emma Wikén (SWE, Fischer) came in seventh and eighth.

Decision in last rotation
Alex Harvey was the first one who started with a 26 seconds advantage against Sundby/Legkov into today's 15k free handicap race, his plan: To go controlled into the first loop and then, wait and see what happens. Thus the Canadian was caught up by the duo after five kilometres. But the predecision was made not until the last of four rotations in Mördarbacken uphill round about two kilometres before finish: Alexander Legkov (RUS) attacked but the Norwegian was on the qui vive - Martin Johnsrud Sundy counterattacked and Legkov wasn't able to follow. The overall World Cup Champion opened a gap because Harvey was held up by the Russian. After the passing maneuver the Canadian escaped from his opponent and he was able to catch up Sundby shortly before the stadium. When he managed it to make the connection Sundby attacked again in the last small uphill and skied towards the finish.

The Norwegian was the first athlete ever to win the stage event in Kuusamo, the Tour de Ski and the World Cup final in the same year. Harvey celebrated his second spot which brought him the third place in overall World Cup ranking. Daniel Richardsson (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) was ranked fourth without any problems because the gaps against the leaders and the chasers were large enough already before the start. Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS, Fischer) won the sprint out of a group of five for fifth spot followed by Marcus Hellner (SWE, Fischer) and Jean Marc Gaillard (FRA, Fischer skis and boots). Sjur Røthe (NOR, Fischer) came in eighth.
10k F Handicap Women, Falun (SWE):
1. Therese Johaug
NOR 00.24.25,50
2. Marit Bjørgen
NOR 00.24.54,70
3. Heidi Weng
NOR 00.26.17,90
4. Kerttu Niskanen
FIN 00.26.18,40
5. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 00.26.41,80
6. Ingvild Flugstad Østberg
NOR 00.26.48,40
7. Yulia Tchekaleva
RUS 00.26.49,80
8. Emma Wiken
SWE 00.26.51,80
9. Kristin Störmer Steira
NOR 00.26.55,50
10. Eva Nyvltova
CZE 00.27.59,10
11. Krista Lähteenmäki
FIN 00.28.05,60
12. Masako Ishida
JPN 00.28.06,90
13. Kikkan Randall
USA 00.28.14,90
14. Martine Ek Hagen
NOR 00.28.16,10
15. Sara Lindborg
SWE 00.28.17,20
15k F Handicap Men, Falun (SWE):
1. Martin Johnsrud Sundby
NOR 00.34.48,10
2. Alex Harvey
CAN 00.34.53,00
3. Alexander Legkov
RUS 00.34.59,10
4. Daniel Rickardsson
SWE 00.35.59,00
5. Maxim Vylegzhanin
RUS 00.36.56,60
6. Marcus Hellner
SWE 00.36.57,00
7. Jean Marc Gaillard
FRA 00.36.57,20
8. Sjur Røthe
NOR 00.36.57,40
9. Matti Heikkinen
FIN 00.36.58,00
10. Eldar Rønning
NOR 00.37.09,10
11. Sergey Ustiugov
RUS 00.37.32,60
12. Devon Kershaw
CAN 00.37.34,10
13. Lukas Bauer
CZE 00.37.51,40
14. Calle Halfvarsson
SWE 00.38.25,80
15. Pål Golberg
NOR 00.38.28,20