Kikkan Randall (USA)
Kikkan Randall, Sophie Caldwell (USA)
Katja Visnar (SLO), Kikkan Randall (USA), Sophie Caldwell (USA) (l-r)
Alexey Petukhov (RUS), Paal Golberg (NOR), Eirik Brandsdal (NOR) (l-r)


Kikkan Randall (USA, Fischer) celebrated another victory in free sprint at cross-country World Cup in Lahti. Five out of six athletes on podium succeeded with Fischer skis.
Randall out of the slipstream
Kikkan Randall won women's final in Lahti with a long drwn-out final sprint. For a long time the American stayed in the slipstream of Slovenian Katja Visnar (SLO, Fischer skis and boots) and overtook the leader over the bridge in the stadium. In the final sprint nobody was able to beat the Alaskan girl who took the lead in sprint World Cup ranking after this success. For a long time Italy's Gaia Vuerich (ITA, Fischer) was on her way to make a podium but in the final stretch she was just beaten by Sophie Caldwell (USA, Fischer). For the US girl it was her first carreer's podium. Olympic Champion Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR, Fischer skis and boots)  was only ranked fifth. The Norwegian controlled the pace from the lead until the middle of the race but then she turned on her own axis and fell. Also Vesna Fabjan (SLO, Fischer) wasn't able to avoid a fall and came in sixth.

Petukhov back on the podium
In men's final for a long time Sweden's Peterson (SWE) showed strength but when arriving in the stadium first Golberg (NOR) and Alexey Petukhov (RUS, Fischer skis snd boots) overtook the Swede, then on the last metres Eirik Brandsdal (NOR, Fischer) as well. Alexey Petukhov was edged out in the final sprint by Norway's Golberg, Eirik Brandsdal finished third. Olympic Champion Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR, Fischer) was in a good position like his compatriot Falla but then he fell face down into the snow after a contact with the best Finn Matias Strandvall (FIN, Fischer) who crossed the line ahead of the Norwegian finishing fifth. 
Sprint Women, Lahti (FIN):
1. Kikkan Randall
USA 00.02.56,53
2. Katja Visnar
SLO 00.02.57,09
3. Sophie Caldwell
USA 00.02.57,42
4. Gaia Vuerich
ITA 00.02.57,45
5. Maiken Caspersen Falla
NOR 00.03.06,03
6. Vesna Fabjan
SLO 00.03.12,81
Sprint Men, Lahti (FIN):
1. Pål Golberg
NOR 00.02.31,60
2. Alexey Petukhov
RUS 00.02.32,36
3. Eirik Brandsdal
NOR 00.02.32,87
4. Teodor Peterson
SWE 00.02.33,08
5. Matias Strandvall
FIN 00.03.07,89
6. Ola Vigen Hattestad
NOR 00.03.29,93