Dmitry Malyshko, Evgeny Ustyugov, Anton Shipulin, Alexey Volkov (RUS) (l-r)
Erik Lesser, Arnd Peiffer, Daniel Böhm, Simon Schempp (GER) (l-r)
Christoph Sumann, Daniel Mesotitsch, Simon Eder, Dominik Landertinger (AUT) (l-r)
Dmitry Malyshko, Evgeny Ustyugov (RUS)
Arnd Peiffer, Daniel Böhm (GER)
Daniel Mesotitsch (AUT)
Evgeny Ustyugov (RUS)
Anton Shipulin, Dmitry Malyshko, Evgeny Ustyugov, Alexey Volkov (RUS) (l-r)


Russian men's relay composed of Alexey Volkov, Evgeny Ustyugov, Dmitry Malyshko and Anton Shipulin (RUS) celebrated Olympic title in last Olympic biathlon race followed by Germany and Austria.
Showdown in final rotation
Men's biathlon relay was exciting as hardly ever before at Olympic Games: With Emil Hegle Svendsen (NOR), Dominik Landertinger (AUT), Anton Shipulin (RUS) and Simon Schempp (GER) four athletes arrived at the last standing stage at the same time and fighted for just three medals. The Norwegian lost his nerves, he had to turn into the penalty loop and came in just fourth along with his compatriots, Bø brothers Tarjei and Johannes as well as Ole Einar Bjørndalen(NOR). In first spot Simon Schempp left the stadium after a great last shooting stage but the Russian closed his six seconds gap very soon. Upon arrival in the stadium Anton Shipulin increased his speed and the German conceded defeat as well as in World Cup relay in Le Grand Bornand (FRA). That means winning the silver medal for team Germany represented by Erik Lesser, Daniel Böhm, an outstanding Arnd Peiffer who showed his best season's race and Simon Schempp (GER). Bronce medal went to team Austria consisting of Christoph Sumann, Daniel Mesotitsch, Simon Eder and Dominik Landertinger (AUT).
Men 4 x 7,5 km Relay:
1. Alexey Volkov
RUS 0+1 0+1 1:12:15.9
1. Evgeny Ustyugov
RUS 0+1 0+2 1:12:15.9
1. Dmitry Malyshko
RUS 0+0 0+1 1:12:15.9
1. Anton Shipulin
RUS 0+2 0+0 1:12:15.9
2. Erik Lesser
GER 0+0 0+0 1:12:19.4
2. Daniel Boehm
GER 0+0 0+1 1:12:19.4
2. Arnd Peiffer
GER 0+0 0+0 1:12:19.4
2. Simon Schempp
GER 0+1 0+0 1:12:19.4
3. Christoph Sumann
AUT 0+1 0+0 1:12:45.7
3. Daniel Mesotitsch
AUT 0+2 0+0 1:12:45.7
3. Simon Eder
AUT 0+0 0+2 1:12:45.7
3. Dominik Landertinger
AUT 0+1 0+1 1:12:45.7