Magnus Hovdal Moan, Håvard Klemetsen, Magnus Krog und Jørgen Gråbak (NOR) (l-r)
Eric Frenzel, Björn Kircheisen, Johannes Rydzek und Fabian Riessle (GER) (l-r)
Lukas Klapfer, Christoph Bieler, Bernhard Gruber und Mario Stecher (AUT) (l-r)
Eric Frenzel (GER)
Fabian Riessle (GER), Joergen Graabak (NOR)
Joergen Graabak (NOR)


Norwegian nordic combined athletes composed of Magnus Hovdal Moan, Håvard Klemetsen, Magnus Krog and Jørgen Gråbak (NOR) captured Olympic gold medal in team event. In the final sprint they edged out Germany and Austria.
Trio always together
After the ski jump at large hill team Germany consisting of Eric Frenzel, Björn Kircheisen, Johannes Rydzek and Fabian Riessle (GER) started first into cross-country race followed by Austria represented by Lukas Klapfer, Christoph Bieler, Bernhard Gruber and Mario Stecher (AUT) with a seven seconds disadvantage and Norway, 25 seconds back. Still under the weather Eric Frenzel lost his advantage against both teams within the first 1.5 kilometres. "The air is very waterless today, that's not very good for my lungs. I have problems to take a deep breath, then I have always to cough", the normal hill Olympic Champion stated. Due to the very soft and deep snow conditions and not perfect skis Björn Kircheisen wasn't able to create a gap as planned, so the trio stayed together until the final sprint. Mario Stecher was the first one who attacked at the uphill but the Austrian wasn't able to open a gap. In addition he and also Jørgen Gråbak took all the place on the tracks during the last kilometre, so Fabian Riessle wasn't able to overtake them. Thus the Norwegian won the final sprint out of the lead followed by Riessle and Stecher who wasn't able to fight for the victory after his attack. With more than one minute disadvantage France finished fourth ahead of Japan.
Team HS140/4x5 Km:
1. Magnus Hovdal Moan
NOR 125.5
1. Haavard Klemetsen
NOR 137.5
1. Magnus Krog
NOR 124.5
1. Joergen Graabak
NOR 123.0
2. Eric Frenzel
GER 129.0
2. Bjoern Kircheisen
GER 131.0
2. Johannes Rydzek
GER 130.0
2. Fabian Riessle
GER 126.5
3. Lukas Klapfer
AUT 126.0
3. Christoph Bieler
AUT 133.0
3. Bernhard Gruber
AUT 122.0
3. Mario Stecher
AUT 132.5
4. Sebastien Lacroix
FRA 121.5
4. Francois Braud
FRA 130.0
4. Maxime Laheurte
FRA 121.5
4. Jason Lamy Chappuis
FRA 129.5