Jørgen Gråbak (NOR)
Magnus Moan (NOR), Jørgen Gråbak (NOR), Fabian Riessle (GER) (l-r)
Eric Frenzel (GER)
Bernhard Gruber (AUT)
Fabian Riessle (GER)


Jørgen Gråbak (NOR) is Olympic Champion at large hill in nordic combined. The Norwegian succeeded ahead of his fellow Magnus Hovdal Moan (NOR) and Fabian Riessle (GER).
Fight of five between Norway and Germany
After the ski jump at large hill in Krasnaya Polyana Olympic Champion Eric Frenzel (GER) started first into cross-country race followed by Håvard Klemetsen (NOR). But already after less than five kilometres a leading group of ten was built in which as expected suffered from sickness Eric Frenzel had no chance. Very early the decision was heralded by Björn Kircheisen (GER) who started his attack more than one kilometre before finish. Along with Gråbak and Moan as well his compatriots Johannes Rydzek (GER) and Fabian Riessle the Saxon was able to open a gap: When reaching the stadium Gråbak overtook Kircheisen and also his team mates seemed to be stronger than him. But Rydzek and Riessle pushed aside into the last hairpin turn in the stadium and Rydzek even fell so that Moan and Kircheisen were able to overtake on the inside. Gråbak celebrated the Olympic title ahead of his team mate Magnus Moan. In final sprint for bronce Riessle edged out deeply disappointed Björn Kircheisen: "That's sport. Das ist Sport, that's bitter with finishing fourth. It was not meant to be again. Outside in the uphill I thought I would be able to win the race. But on the last 300 metres I ran out of breathe, I was totally overacidified." Sprint of chasing group was won by Bernhard Gruber (AUT) who showed the best jump for a long time. Akito Watabe (JPN) fell two kilomtres before finish shortly before Kircheisen's acceleration but was able to close the gap at least against the second group and finished seventh ahead of Jason Lamy Chappuis (FRA). Disappointed Johannes Rydzek ran down slowly  and came in eighth followed by Klemetsen and Frenzel.

Gundersen LH HS140/10.0 K , Sochi (RUS):
1. Joergen Graabak
NOR 23:27.5
2. Magnus Hovdal Moan
NOR 23:28.1
3. Fabian Riessle
GER 23:29.1
4. Bjoern Kircheisen
GER 23:29.6
5. Bernhard Gruber
AUT 23:38.8
6. Akito Watabe
JPN 23:39.0
7. Jason Lamy Chappuis
FRA 23:43.9
8. Johannes Rydzek
GER 23:51.4
9. Haavard Klemetsen
NOR 23:52.0
10. Eric Frenzel
GER 23:57.9
11. Miroslav Dvorak
CZE 24:00.1
12. Magnus Krog
NOR 24:04.2
13. Francois Braud
FRA 24:05.2