Darya Domracheva (BLR)
Tiril Eckhoff (NOR), Darya Domracheva (BLR), Gabriela Soukalova (CZE) (l-r)
Darya Domracheva (BLR)
Darya Domracheva (BLR)
Gabriela Soukalova (CZE)
Gabriela Soukalova (CZE)
Tiril Eckhoff (NOR)


Four races - three title and finishing ninth in sprint: Darya Domracheva (BLR) indisputable is the best biathletes in Olympic Games in Sochi. Additional she became the first woman to win three individual gold medals in a single Olympic Winter Games. Silver went to Gabriela Soukalova (CZE) followed by Tiril Eckhoff (NOR).
Riding on a wave of success
Again Darya Domracheva demonstrated everyone that she is on a roll: The Belarussian controlled the field from the lead already in the first rotation after the start with 30 athletes in mass start and after a first clear shooting she played her strength in skiing and escaped from the group. This lead she extended second by second so that missing the pre-last target didn't let herself worked up. Finally Gabriela Soukalova was able to celebrate a medal after finishing fourth twice in pursuit and individual event. The Czech had to ski a single penalty loop after the last standing stage and she came in with a 20 second disadvantage. Tiril Eckhoff (NOR) jubelated about her bronce medal after a thrilling final sprint with former cross-country skier Evi Sachenbacher-Stehle (GER). Teja Gregorin (SLO) finished ahead of Polish Monika Hojnisz (POL) on a very good fifth spot after reaching a medal in pursuit. The Pole just missed a crash with fallen Tora Berger (NOR) in a downhill. Kaisa Mäkäräinen (FIN) finished seventh after two misses followed by Olena Pidhrushna (UKR). Veronika Vitkova (CZE) was ranked ninth ahead of Selina Gasparin (SUI).
Damen 12,5 km Massenstart:
1. Darya Domracheva
BLR 0+0+0+1 35:25.6
2. Gabriela Soukalova
CZE 0+0+0+1 35:45.8
3. Tiril Eckhoff
NOR 0+1+0+0 35:52.9
4. Evi Sachenbacher-stehle
GER 0+0+0+0 35:53.9
5. Teja Gregorin
SLO 0+0+0+0 36:05.0
6. Monika Hojnisz
POL 0+0+0+0 36:20.5
7. Kaisa Makarainen
FIN 0+0+1+1 36:27.1
8. Olena Pidhrushna
UKR 0+0+0+0 36:37.1
9. Veronika Vitkova
CZE 0+0+0+0 36:49.3
10. Selina Gasparin
SUI 0+1+1+0 36:54.9
11. Anais Bescond
FRA 0+0+3+0 36:55.3
12. Susan Dunklee
USA 0+1+1+1 36:57.9
13. Valj Semerenko
UKR 0+0+2+0 37:03.5
14. Karin Oberhofer
ITA 0+0+1+1 37:03.6
15. Tora Berger
NOR 0+1+1+0 37:07.8