Kamil Stoch (POL)
Kamil Stoch (POL)
Peter Prevc (SLO), Kamil Stoch (POL), Noriaki Kasai (JPN) (l-r)
Noriaki Kasai (JPN)
Severin Freund (GER)
Marinus Kraus (GER)
Gregor Schlierenzauer (AUT)
Michael Hayböck (AUT)


After his triumph at normal hill Kamil Stoch (POL) realized another Olympic title at large hill. Just capped was the 41-year-old Noriaki Kasai (JPN), the bronce medal went to Peter Prevc (SLO).
1.3 points turned the balance
Just 1.3 points prevented the triumph of the oldest Olympic Champion of all time. Japanese Noriaki Kasai showed jumps at 139 and 133.5 metres and thus he was 1.3 points behind the newly-minted double Olympic Champion Kamil Stoch who reached widths of 139 and 132.5 metres. With two gold medals Stoch is now the commanding skijumper in Sochi, for Kasai this silver medal was his second ever Olympic medal after beeing vice Olympic Champion in team event in 1994. The bronce medal went to Peter Prevc.

A clear improvement after his fall in first Olympic event at normal hill managed Severin Freund (GER). The German was ranked third after the first round but missed the medal by 2.6 points. Anders Fannemel (NOR) came in fifth followed by Marinus Kraus (GER). The young German used a light head wind in his final round for excellent 140 metres thus made his increasing from 24 to six. Gregor Schlierenzauer (AUT) managed a conciliable end in Sochi individual event with finishing seventh. His compatriot Michael Hayböck (AUT) was ranked eighth ahead of Daiki Ito (JPN) and his team mate Reruhi Shimizu (JPN).
HS140, Sochi (RUS):
1. Kamil Stoch
POL 139.0 132.5 278.7
2. Noriaki Kasai
JPN 139.0 133.5 277.4
3. Peter Prevc
SLO 135.0 131.0 274.8
4. Severin Freund
GER 138.0 129.5 272.2
5. Anders Fannemel
NOR 132.0 132.0 264.3
6. Marinus Kraus
GER 131.0 140.0 257.4
7. Gregor Schlierenzauer
AUT 132.5 130.5 255.2
8. Michael Hayboeck
AUT 134.0 125.5 254.7
9. Daiki Ito
JPN 137.5 124.0 252.5
10. Reruhi Shimizu
JPN 130.0 134.5 252.2
11. Anssi Koivuranta
FIN 131.5 121.5 250.6
12. Maciej Kot
POL 126.0 123.5 250.4
13. Taku Takeuchi
JPN 132.5 122.5 249.3
14. Gregor Deschwanden
SUI 134.5 123.0 247.4