Dario Cologna (SUI)
Johan Olsson (SWE), Dario Cologna (SUI), Daniel Richardsson (SWE) (l-r)
Johan Olsson (SWE), Dario Cologna (SUI)
Daniel Richardsson (SWE)
Lukas Bauer (CZE)
Dario Cologna (SUI)


After skiathlon Dario Cologna (SUI) made also 10 kilometres classical race at Olympic Games in Sochi turn out for him. Silver and bronce went to Swedish skiers Johan Olsson (SWE) and Daniel Richardsson (SWE).
Cologna dominates, Swedes fit to the point
Dario Cologna did it again: With an outstanding classical performance the Grisonian secured his second gold medal within few days in a very dominant style. The 27-year-old started quite conservative into his race but after the first five kilometres he was already in a clear lead. After crossing the line he distanced silver medalist Johan Olsson by 28 seconds. Olsson again suffered with several health problems in his preparations and thus kept a low profile and scaled down all expectations at least official. At the major sporting event he was maximum present and was rewarded with silver medal.

Top fit to the point as well was his compatriot Daniel Richardsson who suffered a serious car accident last summer and had to stop training for several weeks. The Swede captured bronce after skiing strong final kilometres. Beaten one was the young Finn Iivo Niskanen (FIN), younger brother of Kerttu Niskanen, in fourth place. Lukas Bauer (CZE) came in fifth, round about a minute behind, followed by Chris Jespersen (NOR) and Alexander Bessmerthnykh (RUS) who was on his way to make a podium during the first kilometres. Axel Teichmann (GER) convinced with a good eighth spot ahead of medal favourite Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ) and Marcus Hellner (SWE) who didn't seem to be that fresh after two challenging races a heavy and very painful crash.
Men 15 km CT, Sochi (RUS):
1. Dario Cologna
SUI 38:29.7
2. Johan Olsson
SWE 38:58.2
3. Daniel Richardsson
SWE 39:08.5
4. Iivo Niskanen
FIN 39:08.7
5. Lukas Bauer
CZE 39:28.6
6. Chris Andre Jespersen
NOR 39:30.6
7. Alexander Bessmertnykh
RUS 39:37.7
8. Axel Teichmann
GER 39:42.4
9. Alexey Poltoranin
KAZ 39:43.2
10. Marcus Hellner
SWE 39:46.9
11. Hannes Dotzler
GER 39:49.9
12. Eldar Roenning
NOR 40:02.8
13. Martin Johnsrud Sundby
NOR 40:07.4