Ondrej Moravec (CZE), Martin Fourcade (FRA), Jean Guillaume Beatrix (FRA) (l-r)
Ondrej Moravec (CZE)
Ondrej Moravec (CZE)
Ondrej Moravec (CZE)
Evgeny Ustyugov (RUS)
Simon Eder (AUT)
Andrejs Rastorgujevs (LAT)


Martin Fourcade (FRA) stormed to his first ever Olympic medal in pursuit in Sochi. The Frenchman won ahead of surprisingly strong performaning Ondrej Moravec (CZE) and Jean Guillaume Beatrix (FRA).
Martin Fourcade can celebrate early
With his success in today's pursuit Martin Fourcade captured his first ever Olympic gold medal after winning just silver in Vancouver. The Frenchman was able to afford skiing one panlty loop and overtook five of his opponents and was aeven able to celebrate his triumph already after his last standing stage. Silver medal went to Czech Ondrej Moravec who was one out of just three athletes shooting clean in each shooting stage. Fourcade's compatriot Jean Guillaume Beatrix made a podium and could celebrate his bronce medal together with his fellow. Grand old man Ole Einar Bjørndalen (NOR) dropped back to fourth spot after missing three targets. After Shipulin's fourth spot in sprint race today Evgeny Ustyugov (RUS) missed a Russian medal. In the final lap he first overtook the Norwegian but wasn't able to follow Bjørndalen's speed on his way to the stadium. Simon Schempp (GER) finished in sixth ahead of Emil Hegle Svendsen (NOR) and Simon Eder (AUT). Andrejs Rastorgujevs (LAT) who increased several spot by a strong performance came in ninth followed by Dominik Landertinger (AUT).
Pursuit Men, Sochi (RUS):
1. Martin Fourcade
FRA 0+0+1+0 33:48.6
2. Ondrej Moravec
CZE 0+0+0+0 34:02.7
3. Jean Guillaume Beatrix
FRA 0+0+1+0 34:12.8
4. Ole Einar Bjoerndalen
NOR 0+1+1+1 34:14.5
5. Evgeny Ustyugov
RUS 0+1+0+0 34:25.3
6. Simon Schempp
GER 0+0+0+1 34:27.7
7. Emil Hegle Svendsen
NOR 0+1+0+0 34:28.8
8. Simon Eder
AUT 1+0+0+1 34:28.9
9. Andrejs Rastorgujevs
LAT 0+0+1+0 34:36.9
10. Dominik Landertinger
AUT 0+0+1+2 34:37.5
11. Nathan Smith
CAN 0+0+1+0 34:37.7
12. Christoph Sumann
AUT 0+0+0+0 34:43.0
13. Fredrik Lindstroem
SWE 0+0+1+2 34:45.7
14. Anton Shipulin
RUS 0+1+1+1 34:47.1
15. Evgeniy Garanichev
RUS 0+0+1+0 34:47.7