Marcus Hellner (SWE), Dario Cologna (SUI), Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR) (l-r)
Dario Cologna (SUI)
Marcus Hellner (SWE), Dario Cologna (SUI)
Hellner (SWE), Vylegzhanin (RUS), Sundby (NOR), Cologna (SUI) (l-r)
Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR), Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ)
Johannes Dürr (AUT), Tobias Angerer (GER)


Dario Cologna (SUI) made it. The Swiss captured the gold medal in 15+15 kilometres skiathlon followed by Marcus Hellner (SWE) and Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR).
Dario came out on top
Already after his podium finish in Dobbiaco Worldcup evenreyone knew: Dario Cologna is one of the biggest gold favourites in Sochi. The Swiss hid himself within the group for a long time while co-favourites like Martin Johnsrud Sundby as well as all four Swedes and strong skiing Austrian Joe Dürr (AUT) showed presence in the top positions of the group. After changing the skis still 17 athletes were more or less together and they they stayed together until the last rotation. During the second out of three skating loops Dario Cologna entered the top of the group after 22 kilometres and thus showed his medal ambitions. The pre-decision was made at the same points of the track as yesterday in women's race: Marcus Hellner attacked at the uphill to the Olympic rings as well as his compatriot Charlotte Kalla (SWE) but Dario Cologna counterattacked and overtook the Swede on the outside. He was able to open a small gap with the Swede as well as Sundby and Vylegzhanin (RUS) hot on his trail with Chernousov (RUS) and Richardsson (SWE) a few metres behind. In the final sprint the Swiss was able to resist the rising Swede, Martin Johnsrud Sundby edged out Maxim Vylegzhanin for bronce. Ilia Chernousov who already dropped back before the ski exchange and even lost a pole in his pit-stop box came in fifth. Sixth went to Jean Marc Gaillard (FRA) who overtook Daniel Richardsson (SWE) in the stadium. Johannes Dürr finished in awesome eighth followed by Maurice Manificat (FRA).
Skiathlon Men, Sochi (RUS):
1. Dario Cologna
SUI 1:08:15.4
2. Marcus Hellner
SWE 1:08:15.8
3. Martin Johnsrud Sundby
NOR 1:08:16.8
4. Maxim Vylegzhanin
RUS 1:08:16.9
5. Ilia Chernousov
RUS 1:08:29.0
6. Jean Marc Gaillard
FRA 1:08:29.8
7. Daniel Richardsson
SWE 1:08:31.7
8. Johannes Duerr
AUT 1:08:32.0
9. Maurice Manificat
FRA 1:08:33.6
10. Lars Nelson
SWE 1:08:37.7
11. Alexander Legkov
RUS 1:08:43.1
12. Giorgio Di Centa
ITA 1:08:43.7
13. Hannes Dotzler
GER 1:08:44.8
14. Anders Soedergren
SWE 1:08:46.9
15. Tobias Angerer
GER 1:08:49.7