Dominik Landertinger (AUT), Ole Einar Bjoerndalen (NOR), Jaroslav Soukup (CZE) (l-r)
Jaroslav Soukup (CZE)
Jaroslav Soukup (CZE)
Anton Shipulin (RUS)
Simon Eder (AUT)
Ondrej Moravec (CZE)


Ole Einar Bjørndalen (NOR) secured his alltogether seventh Olympic gold medal in today's sprint. Silver medal went to Dominik Landertinger (AUT) followed by Jaroslav Soukup (CZE).
Seventh gold medal on his fifth Olympic Games
Aged 40 years Ole Einar Bjørndalen secured his seventh Olympic gold medal on his fifth Olympic Games. "It was my best race this season!", the Norwegian stated happily. He succeeded despite one miss shortly ahead of Dominik Landertinger. Bronce medal went to Jaroslav Soukup who shot absolutely clear as well as the Austrian and thus won the first medal ever for the Czech Biathlon Team at the Olympics. Anton Shipulin (RUS) showed an awesome performance until he wasn't able to fulfill the Russian medal hopes due one miss. Jean Philippe Le Guellec (CAN) came in fifth followed by top favourite Martin Fourcade (FRA) who recieved one penalty as well. Simon Eder (AUT) finished seventh ahead of Ondrej Moravec (CZE). Emil Hegle Svendsen (NOR) was ranked ninth ahead of Jakov Fak (SLO).

Spots 1-8 finished within 14.6 seconds which promises to be nail-biting  for pursuit on Monday.
10 km Sprint men, Sochi (RUS):
1. Ole Einar Bjoerndalen
NOR 0+1 24:33.5
2. Dominik Landertinger
AUT 0+0 24:34.8
3. Jaroslav Soukup
CZE 0+0 24:39.2
4. Anton Shipulin
RUS 0+1 24:39.9
5. Jean-philippe Le Guellec
CAN 0+0 24:43.2
6. Martin Fourcade
FRA 1+0 24:45.9
7. Simon Eder
AUT 0+0 24:47.2
8. Ondrej Moravec
CZE 0+0 24:48.1
9. Emil Hegle Svendsen
NOR 0+1 25:02.8
10. Jakov Fak
SLO 0+0 25:06.5
11. Dominik Windisch
ITA 1+0 25:07.6
12. Lukas Hofer
ITA 0+1 25:08.8
13. Nathan Smith
CAN 0+0 25:09.7
14. Jean Guillaume Beatrix
FRA 1+0 25:12.1
15. Simon Schempp
GER 0+0 25:16.4