Charlotte Kalla (SWE); Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Heidi Weng (NOR) (l-r)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Charlotte Kalla (SWE)
Justyna Kowalczyk (POL)
Ski exchange


Marit Bjørgen (NOR) succeeded in women's skiathlon and catches first cross-country gold in Sochi. She outsprinted Charlotte Kalla (SWE), Bronce went to Heidi Weng (NOR).
Bjørgen stronger in final sprint
The first Olympic Champion in cross-country events in Sochi is named Marit Bjørgen. In an exciting medal decision a group of five stayed together just until the last arrical in the stadium after several unsuccesful attacks on challenging tracks in Krasnaya Polyana. The pre-deciding attack was made by Charlotte Kalla who attacked at the long uphill before the stadium and only Marit Bjørgen was able to follow. In the last corner into the stadium the Norwegian overtook her opponent inside and defended her lead also in the final stretch. In fight for bronce Heidi Weng outsprinted Therese Johaug. Aino Kaisa Saarinen (FIN) came in fifth. Justyna Kowalczyk (POL) jammed with the Finn just before the ski exchange and thus both fell. Therefore she lost a few seconds against the leaders at the exchange - indeed she tried to close the gap during the first skating rotation her litlle medal hopes were dashed at the long uphill. The Pole had to fight against Kerttu Niskanen (FIN) during the last kilometres but the Polish was the winner in that duel and finished sixth. In the final sprint of a chasing group of ten Jessica Diggins (USA) came in seventh followed by Emma Wikén (SWE) and Masako Ishida (JPN).

News of brother of Jacobsen's death shadowed Norwegian triumph
Norwegian team was shocked after yesterday's news of sudden death of Astrid Jacobsen's brother. Norwegian team acted in today's race with a black ribbon, Marit Bjørgen touched her heart after crossing the line and the girls cried together in the clothing tent.
Skiathlon Women, Sochi (RUS):
1. Marit Bjoergen
NOR 38:33.6
2. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 38:35.4
3. Heidi Weng
NOR 38:46.8
4. Therese Johaug
NOR 38:48.2
5. Aino-kaisa Saarinen
FIN 38:48.9
6. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 39:29.7
7. Kerttu Niskanen
FIN 39:35.3
8. Jessica Diggins
USA 40:05.5
9. Emma Wiken
SWE 40:07.2
10. Masako Ishida
JPN 40:08.3
11. Eva Vrabcova - Nyvltova
CZE 40:08.8
12. Elizabeth Stephen
USA 40:09.6
13. Krista Lahteenmaki
FIN 40:09.9
14. Nicole Fessel
GER 40:11.4
15. Yulia Tchekaleva
RUS 40:11.6