Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS)
Evgeniy Belov (RUS), Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS), Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ) (l-r)
Stanislav Volzhentsev (RUS)
Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS), Hannes Dotzler (GER)
Justyna Kowalczyk (POL)
Yulia Tchekaleva (RUS), Justyna Kowalczyk (POL), Julia Ivanova (RUS) (l-r)
Yulia Tchekaleva (RUS)
Katerina Smutna (AUT), Justyna Kowalczyk (POL)


Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS, Fischer) celebrated victory in 13.5k classic mass start in Szklarska Poręba ahead of Evgeniy Belov (RUS, Fischer) and Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ, Fischer skis and boots). Justyna Kowalczyk (POL, Fischer skis and boots) was able to celebrate a supposed win in front of her home crowd. Therefore she made herself a gift with the 30th World Cup success at her 31st birthday.
Early attack makes pre-decision
Maxim Vylegzhanin seized the opportunity with an understaffed field and won single-handedly the World Cup mass start in Szklarska Poręba. Today's mass start was over five laps with each 2.7 kilometres due to lack of snow so the race was only 13.5 kilometres long. Vylegzhanin skied noticeable conservative in the first half of the race until he took the lead with some team mates after eighth skied kilometres. Two kilometres later Vylegzhanin started an attack but Hannes Dotzler (GER, Fischer) was able to close the gap. After anew attack the leading group was reduced from nine to six athletes but Vylegzhanin never gave up: One kilometres before the finish he made the deciding attack - Vylegzhanin was alone in the lead now, behind him Alexey Poltoranin, Evgeniy Belov and Hannes Dotzler as well as  Tobias Angerer (GER, Fischer skis and boots) and Alex Harvey (CAN, Fischer). In the final sprint Belov secured second spot ahead of Poltoranin. Alex Harvey came in fourth followed by Hannes Dotzler and Tobias Angerer who last-minute qualified for the Olympics. Stanislav Volzhentsev (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) came in seventh ahead of Devon Kershaw (CAN, Fischer).

Full speed until the start: Kowalczyk unbeatable
Already until the start top favourite Justyna Kowalczyk set a high pace and when leaving the stadium there were already the first gaps behind the Pole. In the downhill to the stadium after the first out of four laps Yulia Tchekaleva (RUS, Fischer) even overtook Kowalczyk. Soon at the second rotation Justyna got down to business: She attacked in the uphill, the chasing duo was composed of Tchekaleva and Denise Herrmann (GER, Fischer) who stayed together until six raced kilometres. Then the German wasn't able to follow the Russian and the chasing group closed the gap to the Saxon. Round about one kilometres before finish Julia Ivanova (RUS; Fischer) started an attack. This means the third spot for her, 1:15 minutes behind winning Justyna Kowalczyk who won 41 seconds ahead of Tchekaleva. Fourth went to Denise Herrmann who edged out her compatriot Claudia Nystad (GER) in the final sprint. Natalia Zhukova (RUS, Fischer) came in eighth, 20 second behind that group, followed by Ida Sargent (USA, Fischer). Katerina Smutna (AUT, Fischer) could be happy about her tenth spot.
15k C Mst Men, Szklarska Poręba (POL):
1. Maxim Vylegzhanin
RUS 00.35.39,00
2. Evgeniy Belov
RUS 00.35.41,20
3. Alexey Poltoranin
KAZ 00.35.41,30
4. Alex Harvey
CAN 00.35.44,20
5. Hannes Dotzler
GER 00.35.44,80
6. Tobias Angerer
GER 00.35.46,30
7. Stanislav Volzhentsev
RUS 00.35.58,20
8. Devon Kershaw
CAN 00.35.58,50
9. Ivan Babikov
CAN 00.35.59,90
10. Jens Filbrich
GER 00.36.00,30
11. Alexander Bessmertnykh
RUS 00.36.04,30
12. Tim Tscharnke
GER 00.36.09,90
13. Dmitriy Japarov
RUS 00.36.13,60
14. Veselin Tzinzov
BUL 00.36.19,10
15. Federico Pellegrino
ITA 00.36.28,40
10k C Women, Szklarska Poręba (POL):
1. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 00.34.34,20
2. Yulia Tchekaleva
RUS 00.35.16,00
3. Julia Ivanova
RUS 00.35.49,40
4. Denise Herrmann
GER 00.35.53,30
5. Claudia Nystad
GER 00.35.55,40
6. Elizabeth Stephen
USA 00.36.00,60
7. Stefanie Böhler
GER 00.36.02,60
8. Natalia Zhukova
RUS 00.36.22,00
9. Ida Sargent
USA 00.36.23,50
10. Katerina Smutna
AUT 00.36.23,70
11. Seraina Boner
SUI 00.36.27,00
12. Olga Kuziukova
RUS 00.36.34,00
13. Katrin Zeller
GER 00.36.36,00
14. Kikkan Randall
USA 00.36.47,70
15. Bettina Gruber
SUI 00.36.49,50