Denise Herrmann (GER), Kikkan Randall (USA), Vesna Fabjan (SLO) (l-r)
Baptiste Gros (FRA), Alex Harvey (CAN), Josef Wenzl (GER) (l-r)
Vesna Fabjan (SLO), Kikkan Randall (USA)
Alex Harvey (CAN)
Alex Harvey (CAN)
Denise Herrmann (GER)
Josef Wenzl (GER)
Justyna Kowalczyk (POL)


Kikkan Randall (USA, Fischer) and Alex Harvey (CAN, Fischer) secured victories in free sprint in Szklarska Poreba. Second went to the Germany Denise Herrmann (GER, Fischer) and Josef Wenzl (GER, Fischer).
Same procedure as every sprint
Denise Herrmann has to wait furthermore for her first ever World Cup success. After a strong performance the leader in sprint World Cup ranking (only 25 points advantage ahead of Randall now) was edged out in the final sprint by Kikkan Randall. Not until the stadium Kikkan Randall outsprinted the until then leading German and reached her second World Cup win within one week. "I gave everything I had in the final stretch. I didn't notice the crash behind me due to the loud cheering audience", the US girl stated. After a crash between two girls in front of her Vesna Fabjan (SLO, Fischer) celebrated her first season's podium spot. Local hero Justyna Kowalczyk (POL, Fischer skis and boots) didn't make it into the semi final.

First World Cup win in sprint
In men's final Alex Harvey was able to secure his first ever victory in a World Cup sprint. Before that he just realized two wins in prologue stages. "It is amazing. It is my first regular World Cup success after two stage wins. I knew that I am the only distance skier in the final heat and I wanted to keep out of any trobles after there were several crashes in my semi final", the Canadian said. In the final corner Wenzl tried to overtake the until then leading Frenchman. But Harvey had the same idea and overtook both on his way to his victory. Therefor Wenzl missed his first success since Düsseldorf 2007. Andy Newell (USA, Fischer) fell in the final heat and came in sixth.
Sprint F Women, Szklarska Poręba (POL):
1. Alex Harvey
CAN 00.02.50,13
2. Josef Wenzl
GER 00.02.50,63
3. Baptiste Gros
FRA 00.02.51,21
4. Cyril Gaillard
FRA 00.02.51,32
5. Martin Jäger
SUI 00.02.51,77
6. Andrew Newell
USA 00.03.27,30
Sprint F Men, Szklarska Poręba (POL):
1. Kikkan Randall
USA 00.03.06,89
2. Denise Herrmann
GER 00.03.07,14
3. Vesna Fabjan
SLO 00.03.07,99
4. Sylwia Jaskowiec
POL 00.03.08,31
5. Jessica Diggins
USA 00.03.13,88
6. Laurien van der Graaff
SUI 00.03.32,85