Kikkan Randall (USA)
Kikkan Randall (USA)
Sergey Ustiugov (RUS), Alexey Petukhov (RUS)


Kikkan Randall (USA, Fischer) dominated free sprint race at cross-country World Cup in Czech Nove Mesto. In men's sprint Sergey Ustiugov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) sprinted to his first World Cup win.
Randall wins with a large advantage
Kikkan Randall was able to celebrate her first season's win with an outstanding performance in free sprint final in Nove Mesto. The American skied in front during the whole final heat, attacked in the uphill very dynamic and opened a large gap against strong skiing Italian Gaia Vuerich (ITA, Fischer) and the other girls. "Seven months a year I am training for such a success", the USgirl smiled after her first season's win. "The people were shouting very loud in the stadium and I didn't know where the others have been. I just focused on myself." While Randall was already jubilating a few metres behind her the other girls were fighting for the podium. Gaia Vuerich who wasn't able to stay with the others after reaching the stadium finished fourth followed by Denise Herrmann (GER, Fischer).

Ustiugov celebrates his first victory
Men's sprint was affectec by tactics as usual and all three Russians were at the nd of the group after the start while Eirik Brandsdal (NOR, Fischer) controlled the pace. After the first half of the final heat Sergey Ustiugov overtook all the others, soon Alexey Petukhov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) followed him. Both Russians opened a small gap along with Federico Pellegrino (ITA) and sprinted for the podium spots. Ustiugov jumped for joy after crossing the line about his first World Cup win, his team mate Alexey Petukhov came in third. Eirik Brandsdal finished fourth.
Sprint F Men, Nove Mesto (CZE):
1. Sergey Ustiugov
RUS 00.02.54,59
2. Federico Pellegrino
ITA 00.02.54,77
3. Alexey Petukhov
RUS 00.02.55,17
4. Eirik Brandsdal
NOR 00.02.56,73
5. Nikolay Morilov
RUS 00.02.56,79
6. Teodor Peterson
SWE 00.02.57,31
Sprint F Women, Nove Mesto (CZE):
1. Kikkan Randall
USA 00.02.44,04
2. Laurien van der Graaff
SUI 00.02.45,73
3. Ingvild Flugstad Østberg
NOR 00.02.45,99
4. Gaia Vuerich
ITA 00.02.46,50
5. Denise Herrmann
GER 00.02.46,51
6. Ida Ingemarsdotter
SWE 00.02.48,14