Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ)
Stanislav Volzhentsev (RUS), Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ), Hannes Dotzler (GER) (l-r)
Thomas Bing (GER) (l), Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ), Hannes Dotzler (GER), Stanislav Volzhentsev (RUS) (r)
Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR)
Kerttu Niskanen (FIN)
Kerttu Niskanen (FIN)
Therese Johaug (NOR), Kerttu Niskanen (FIN), Astrid Jacobsen (NOR) (l-r)
Therese Johaug (NOR), Kerttu Niskanen (FIN)


Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ, Fischer skis and boots) sprinted out Hannes Dotzler (GER, Fischer) and Stanislav Volzhentsev (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) for stage win in 15k classic mass start in Lenzerheide. In women's mass start at fourth Tour de Ski stage the Finn Kerttu Niskanen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots) outsmarted the Norwegian superiority and caught her first World Cup stage win, third went to Therese Johaug (NOR, Fischer skis and boots).
Bonus sprints seperat the main group
It became a diversified mass start in 15k classic race. Favourites like Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) were in front of the race and kept the pace up. Both bonus sprints at 6.0 and 9.6 kilometres split points seperated the main group and opened many gaps due to the higher pace and those gaps weren't all totally closed by the athletes. During the last kilometre a group of 20 was built from which the winners were established in a long final sprint. When reaching the stadium four atheltes were fisghting for the podium spots. The victory went to the Kazakh Alexey Poltoranin who edged out Hannes Dotzler and Stanislav Volzhentsev. "It was a hard race, it went haywire at the bonus sprints. I am happy to be the winner today", the Kazakh told. Daniel Richardsson (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) finished fifth. Sjur Røthe (NOR, Fischer) came in eighth, Martin Johnsrud Sundby and Petter Northug (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) finished 14th and 15th.

High pace from start to finish
In women's 10k mass start in classic style the pace was very high from start to finish. The heat was first dominated by the Norwegian trio Ingvild Flugstad Østberg, Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen (both NOR) and Therese Johaug, Johaug kept the pace up and the main group was reduced athlete by athlete. At the bonus sprint at 5.5k six girls were ahead - four Norwegians and two Finns -, Niskanen increased the speed, caught most of the bonus seconds and tried to escape. But Johaug closed the gap again, caught Niskanen after one kilometre in the lead and Østberg lost the contact. On their way to the stadium Niskanen had more energies than the others left and realized her first World Cup success, Therese Johaug came in third. Anne Kyllönen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots) won the sprint of the chasing group of eight, Olga Kuziukova (RUS, Fischer) finished eighth.

Sundby takes leader bib
After today's mass start Martin Johnsrud Sundby is the new overall leader in Tour de Ski ranking. The Norwegian is now 31.7 seconds ahead of the Swede Calle Halfvarsson (SWE, Fischer) and 35.3 seconds ahead of the former leader Alex Harvey (CAN, Fischer). Petter Northug is the new fourth-placed, Alexey Poltoranin is sixth. In women's ranking Niskanen in now in third spot, 36 seconds behind Jacobsen. Johaug is fourth now, six seconds behind the Finn. Anne Kyllönen is in sixth spot ahead of Denise Herrmann (GER).

15km C Mst Herren, Lenzerheide (SUI):
1. Alexey Poltoranin
KAZ 00.34.28,10
2. Hannes Dotzler
GER 00.34.28,70
3. Stanislav Volzhentsev
RUS 00.34.29,10
4. Thomas Bing
GER 00.34.29,20
5. Daniel Rickardsson
SWE 00.34.32,10
6. Sami Jauhojärvi
FIN 00.34.32,10
7. Jens Filbrich
GER 00.34.35,00
8. Sergey Turyshev
RUS 00.34.36,00
9. Sjur Røthe
NOR 00.34.36,00
10. Ilia Chernousov
RUS 00.34.37,00
11. Chris Jespersen
NOR 00.34.37,10
12. Tim Tscharnke
GER 00.34.37,20
13. Matti Heikkinen
FIN 00.34.37,20
14. Martin Johnsrud Sundby
NOR 00.34.38,30
15. Petter jr Northug
NOR 00.34.38,90
10km C Mst Damen, Lenzerheide (SUI):
1. Kerttu Niskanen
FIN 00.26.27,40
2. Astrid Jacobsen
NOR 00.26.27,80
3. Therese Johaug
NOR 00.26.28,50
4. Heidi Weng
NOR 00.26.29,30
5. Aino-Kaisa Saarinen
FIN 00.26.29,90
6. Anne Kyllönen
FIN 00.26.51,30
7. Eva Nyvltova
CZE 00.26.51,90
8. Olga Kuziukova
RUS 00.26.52,50
9. Hanna Erikson
SWE 00.26.53,20
10. Ingvild Flugstad Østberg
NOR 00.26.57,20
11. Aurore Jean
FRA 00.26.57,20
12. Emma Wiken
SWE 00.26.58,50
13. Krista Lähteenmäki
FIN 00.26.59,90
14. Julia Tikhonova
RUS 00.27.05,50
15. Sara Lindborg
SWE 00.27.07,70