Justyna Kowalczyk (POL)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Justyna Kowalczyk (POL), Heidi Weng (NOR) (l-r)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Petter Northug (NOR)
Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ), Petter Northug (NOR), Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR) (l-r)
Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ)
Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR)
Tobias Angerer (GER)


Justyna Kowalczyk (POL, Fischer skis and boots) returned the favour for her unsuccessful World Champs in 10k classical race in Lahti and won unchallenged ahead of her Norwegian rivals. As well as Justyna Kowalczyk Petter Northug (NOR, Fischer) dominated from start to finish in Lahti. The Norwegian secured victory more than half a minute ahead of Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ, Fischer skis and boots).
"Starting relaxed into the race"
As Marit Bjoergen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) said before the race  Justyna Kowalczyk had the same tactic: Starting slowly into the race. But nobody was able to see this tactics because the Polish clearly set all the fastest times at the split points and declassed her Norwegian opponents. After crossing the line the Polish was between 23 and 28 seconds ahead of her rivals. "I like these conditions here and I noticed that my skis were very good. I started very relaxed into the race. I don't think about my unsuccessful World Championships I just concentrated on my race today", Kowalczyk said.On the following spot the three Norwegians Marit Bjoergen, Therese Johaug (NOR, Fischer) and Heidi Weng (NOR) rotated at the split times. Due to her downhill performances Marit Bjoergen was able to leave her compatriots behind during the last kilometres. Therese Johaug became fourth. Best skier outside top four was Kerttu Niskanen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots), 55 seconds back. Charlotte Kalla (SWE, Fischer) finished seventh and Olga Kuziukova (RUS, Fischer) who was the fastest girl at split points for a long time made a top ten result.

Northug: Matchball in sprint not used
"This morning I met Petter during my joggin session. He told me he had a matchpoint yesterday in sprint because Dario didn't make the cut but wasn't able to make use of it. Today he wanted to give everything and he made it", Tobias Angerer (GER, Fischer skis and boots) told after the race. That's what the Norwegian did. He started very aggressive into the race as in World Champs free race where he succeeded unchallenged. Today he increased his lead from split time to split time as well and won 31.7 seconds ahead of Alexey Poltoranin who missed out yesterday's sprint. "I had a good feeling already in sprint race but I didn't make it. I Set my sights high and everything went well. I think it was my best race this winter. ", Northug said. Third went to Northugs compatriot Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) who missed out most of World Champs due to sickness. Lukas Bauer (CZE, Fischer) showed a good performance in a weak winter and finished fourth ahead of Tobias Angerer and Dietmar Nöckler (ITA, Fischer skis and boots). The South Tyrolean who has to fight for qualification for World Cup final skied a high pace at the end of his race and celebrated his best World Cup result ever in finishing sixth. Daniel Richardsson (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) came in seventh, Calle Halfvarsson (SWE, Fischer) finished tenth.
10k C Women, Lahti (FIN):
1. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 00.25.38,90
2. Marit Bjørgen
NOR 00.26.02,00
3. Heidi Weng
NOR 00.26.04,40
4. Therese Johaug
NOR 00.26.07,10
5. Kerttu Niskanen
FIN 00.26.34,10
6. Krista Lähteenmäki
FIN 00.26.40,10
7. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 00.26.46,90
8. Aino Kaisa Saarinen
FIN 00.26.47,10
9. Astrid Jacobsen
NOR 00.26.48,20
10. Olga Kuziukova
RUS 00.26.59,40
11. Nicole Fessel
GER 00.27.02,90
12. Anne Kyllönen
FIN 00.27.11,70
13. Julia Ivanova
RUS 00.27.13,40
14. Mariya Guschina
RUS 00.27.13,90
15. Alija Iksanova
RUS 00.27.16,70
15k C Men, Lahti (FIN):
1. Petter jr Northug
NOR 00.34.35,60
2. Alexey Poltoranin
KAZ 00.35.07,30
3. Martin Johnsrud Sundby
NOR 00.35.10,70
4. Lukas Bauer
CZE 00.35.18,60
5. Tobias Angerer
GER 00.35.26,60
6. Dietmar Nöckler
ITA 00.35.29,90
7. Daniel Rickardsson
SWE 00.35.34,90
8. Alexander Legkov
RUS 00.35.37,90
9. Alexander Bessmertnykh
RUS 00.35.43,10
10. Calle Halfvarsson
SWE 00.35.46,40
11. Eldar Rönning
NOR 00.35.47,50
12. Jens Eriksson
SWE 00.35.49,90
13. Jean Marc Gaillard
FRA 00.35.51,10
14. Sami Jauhojärvi
FIN 00.35.53,70
15. Hannes Dotzler
GER 00.35.54,40