Kikkan Randall (USA)
Kikkan Randall (USA), Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Kikkan Randall (USA), Alena Prochazkova (SVK) (l-r)
Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR), Emil Jönsson (SWE), Finn Haagen Krogh (NOR) (l-r)
Emil Jönsson (SWE)
Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR)
Finn Haagen Krogh (NOR)


Kikkan Randall (USA, Fischer) and Emil Jönsson (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) are the winners of the quite flat free sprint races in Lahti and they were able to celebrate their success in Sprint World Cup ranking.
Kikkan Randall triumphates in Lahti
A bit surprising Kikkan Randall celebrated her third sprint World Cup win this season in free sprint in Lahti. The American who wasn't in that good form during the last weeks in individual races escaped from the others along with Marit Bjoergen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) in the middle of final heat and overtook the Norwegian in the stadium. In the final sprint it became very tight but the US-girl was able to edge out Bjoergen and secured the small Crystal Globe. "The final sprint shouldn't have been five metres longer. I was happy to see the finish line. I am happy about defending the sprint Overall title", Randall said. After her surprisingly strong eighth rank at the World Champs Slovake Alena Prochazkova (SVK, Fischer) reached her first podium for a long time behind Bjoergen. Fourth went to Britta Johansson Norgren (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) who is out of Swedish national team for years. Her team mate Charlotte Kalla (SWE, Fischer) finished sixth after a collision.

Emil Jönsson best sprinter in Lahti
Emil Jönsson showed again in Lahti that he is the best sprinter at the moment. The Swede dominated his heats and strategized only in the final when the stayed in the middle of the group at the beginning. In the stadium he was already in the slipstream of Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR, Fischer skis and boots), took the long way in a corner and therefore he picked up the higher pace for the final sprint. So he secured victory without any problems ahead of the Norwegian. "I felt very well but I am very tired after a long season like all the others. I already noticed it in the downhill and it was a tight fight with Hattestad. I am so happy now", Jönsson said and already won the Overall sprint ranking. For Hattestad it was the first positive result after a long time with health problems. Third went to Finn Haagen Krogh (NOR, Fischer) who edged out Nikolay Chebotko (KAZ, Fischer skis and boots) in the final stretch. Prologue winner Gleb Retivykh (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) came in fifth.

Sprint Men, Lahti (FIN):
1. Emil Jönsson
SWE 00.02.26,90
2. Ola Vigen Hattestad
NOR 00.02.27,60
3. Finn Haagen Krogh
NOR 00.02.27,80
4. Nikolay Chebotko
KAZ 00.02.27,90
5. Gleb Retivykh
RUS 00.02.28,80
6. Anton Gafarov
RUS 00.02.30,10
Sprint Women, Lahti (FIN):
1. Kikkan Randall
USA 00.02.41,80
2. Marit Bjørgen
NOR 00.02.41,80
3. Alena Prochazkova
SVK 00.02.43,00
4. Britta Johansson Norgren
SWE 00.02.44,60
5. Riikka Sarasoja
FIN 00.02.57,80
6. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 00.03.02,60