Sjur Roethe, Eldar Roenning, Petter Northug, Tord Asle Gjerdalen (NOR) (l-r)
Petter Northug (NOR)
Final sprint


With the final sprint from their anchorman Petter Northug (NOR, Fischer) team Norway along with Tord Asle Gjerdalen (NOR), Eldar Roenning (NOR) and Sjur Roethe (NOR, Fischer) secured gold medal and defended their title ahead of Sweden and Russia.
Northug secures victory for team Norway
Victory in men's relay went to defending champion from Norway. The quartet consisting of Tord Asle Gjerdalen, Eldar Roenning, Sjur Roethe and Petter Northug was the best team in the final stretch. After a lot of tactical manoeuvring during the last ten kilometres and some ineffective attacks during the last loop there was no getting around the success of Petter Northug's team in the final stretch. Silver medal went to Swedish quartet along with Daniel Richardsson (SWE, Fischer skis and boots), Johan Olsson (SWE, Fischer), Marcus Hellner (SWE, Fischer) and Calle Halfvarsson (SWE, Fischer). Hellner didn't feel well before the race and asked for skiing the third leg but he did well as well as their last skier Halfvarsson. Bronze came to team Russia consisting of Evgeniy Belov (RUS, Fischer), Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS, Fischer), Alexander Legkov (RUS) and youngster Sergej Ustiugov (RUS, Fischer) after poor World Championships in distance races. Italians Dietmar Nöckler (ITA, Fischer skis and boots), Giorgio di Centa (ITA, Fischer), Roland Clara (ITA, Fischer skis and boots) and David Hofer (ITA, Fischer skis and boots) went away empty-handed in front of their home crowd. Team Finland finished fifth ahead of Switzerland.
Relay Men, Val di Fiemme (ITA):
1. Tord Asle Gjerdalen
NOR 27:13.7
1. Eldar Roenning
NOR 26:34.3
1. Sjur Roethe
NOR 23:30.0
1. Petter Jr. Northug
NOR 24:19.2
2. Daniel Richardsson
SWE 27:17.1
2. Johan Olsson
SWE 26:31.6
2. Marcus Hellner
SWE 23:27.9
2. Calle Halfvarsson
SWE 24:21.8
3. Evgeniy Belov
RUS 27:31.7
3. Maxim Vylegzhanin
RUS 26:15.5
3. Alexander Legkov
RUS 23:28.8
3. Sergey Ustiugov
RUS 24:23.6
4. Dietmar Noeckler
ITA 27:18.8
4. Giorgio Di Centa
ITA 26:26.4
4. Roland Clara
ITA 23:33.1
4. David Hofer
ITA 24:21.5