Eric Frenzel (GER)
Eric Frenzel (GER)
Bernhard Gruber (AUT)
Bernhard Gruber (AUT), Eric Frenzel (AUT), Jason Lamy Chappuis (FRA) (l-r)
Akito Watabe (JPN)


Eric Frenzel (GER, Fischer skis and boots) celebrated World Champion title in Nordic Combined after an amazing jump. Silver went to Bernhard Gruber (AUT, Fischer skis and boots).
Winning start
After a jump at a new hill record with 138.5 metres (previously 137.5 metres Gruber 2009) and a clear advantage against the good skiers anything but the World Champion title for Eric Frenzel would have been a big surprise. So the German went away single-handedly while his opponents abandonned prosecution and his advantage became bigger and bigger. "It is so amazing, I am stunned that everything went so well. It was a hard piece of work, the last competitions didn't work so well for our team. But today I was rewarded for that. I had a rocket under my feet and I tried to concentrate of myself, I didn't think about the gaps and listened to my body", the new World Champion told after his success. His chasers aligned to a group early after the start and very early they concentrated on winning silver and bronce without chasing Frenzel. The decision was just made in the final stretch where Bernhard Gruber secured silver, 36 seconds back. "The skis were just awesome," said the silver medalist overwehelmed. Akito Watabe (JPN, Fischer skis and boots) shortly missed the podium and finished fourth ahead of Hideaki Nagai (JPN, Fischer skis and boots). Haavard Klemetsen (NOR, Fischer) came in ninth followed by Johannes Rydzek (GER, Fischer skis and boots).
HS134/10k, Val di Fiemme (ITA):
1. Eric Frenzel
GER 00.27.22,80
2. Bernhard Gruber
AUT 00.27.59,50
3. Jason Lamy Chappuis
FRA 00.28.00,00
4. Akito Watabe
JPN 00.28.01,20
5. Hideaki Nagai
JPN 00.28.05,10
6. Wilhelm Denifl
AUT 00.28.10,50
7. Sebastien Lacroix
FRA 00.28.13,60
8. Magnus Moan
NOR 00.28.20,50
9. Haavard Klemetsen
NOR 00.28.21,00
10. Johannes Rydzek
GER 00.28.30,50
11. Mikko Kokslien
NOR 00.28.36,90
12. Yoshito Watabe
JPN 00.28.37,40
13. Taihei Kato
JPN 00.28.43,00
14. Björn Kircheisen
GER 00.28.47,30
15. Bill Demong
USA 00.28.49,00