Eric Frenzel (GER)
Tino Edelmann (GER), Eric Frenzel (GER), Johannes Rydzek (GER) (l-r)
Eric Frenzel (GER)
Eric Frenzel (GER), Johannes Rydzek (GER), Tino Edelmann (GER) (l-r)
Bernhard Gruber (AUT)
Fabian Riessle (GER), Björn Kircheisen (GER)


Eric Frenzel (GER, Fischer skis and boots) continued his winning streak in penalty race. The German secured victory in Klingenthal followed by two compatriots, Johannes Rydzek (GER, Fischer skis and boots) came in third.
Frenzel celebrates a winning start
Eric Frenzel gave the German audience a winning start and secured his fifth victory in a row. The athlete from Oberwiesenthal started ten seconds ahead into cross-country race and along with second-best jumper Bernhard Gruber (AUT, Fischer skis and boots) he was able to cold-shoulder the penalty loop. After starting carefully into the race again he opened a gap after the first lap while some of his chasers skied at least a few of their penalty loops. So the way was clear for Eric Frenzel who celebrated victory in beginning snowfall in front of his home crowd with a 23 second-advantage. His team and brand mate Johannes Rydzek escaped from some opponents during the last kilometre so he was able to complete the podium after finishing behind his compatriot Tino Edelmann (GER). Bernhard Gruber didn't seem to be a top shape againbut he saved his sixth spot. Björn Kircheisen (GER, Fischer skis and boots) became fourth-best German and was ranked tenth. Only 24 athletes were allowed to start into cross-country race, among them ten Germans.

Penalty Race HS140/10km, Klingenthal (GER):
1. Eric Frenzel
GER 00.23.21,10
2. Tino Edelmann
GER 00.23.44,50
3. Johannes Rydzek
GER 00.23.55,50
4. Wilhelm Denifl
AUT 00.23.59,50
5. Jason Lamy Chappuis
FRA 00.23.59,50
6. Bernhard Gruber
AUT 00.23.59,70
7. Sebastien Lacroix
FRA 00.24.00,70
8. Bryan Fletcher
USA 00.24.02,50
9. Magnus Moan
NOR 00.24.03,70
10. Björn Kircheisen
GER 00.24.44,80
11. Miroslav Dvorak
CZE 00.24.44,90
12. Bill Demong
USA 00.24.45,40
13. Marjan Jelenko
SLO 00.24.57,80
14. Tomas Slavik
CZE 00.24.59,30
15. Janis Morweiser
GER 00.25.04,40