Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Therese Johaug (NOR) (l-r)
Therere Johaug (NOR), Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Justyna Kowalczyk (POL) (l-r)
Masako Ishida (JPN), Justyna Kowalczyk (POL) (l-r)
Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ)
Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ), Dario Cologna (SUI), Alexander Bessmertnykh (RUS) (l-r)
Alexander Bessmertnykh (RUS). Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ), Dario Cologna (SUI) (l-r)


No surprises on podium in mass start in La Clusaz: Marit Bjoergen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) won 10k classical race followed by Therese Johaug (NOR, Fischer) and Justyna Kowalczyk (POL, Fischer skis and boots). Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ, Fischer skis and boots) secured victory in men's 15k classical mass start. He benefitted of too early cheering of Alexander Bessmertnykh (RUS).
Favorites made a podium
Women's 10k classical mass start race ended without any surprises on podium. As usual the pace was very high from start to finish and the main group came undone for the first time after two kilometres. At the end only the three to favorites stayed together and fighted for victory until Marit Bjoergen increased the speed in her first competition after her break round about 1.5 kilometres before finish. Although Therese Johaug was able to close the gap again she had not enough energies for the final stretch. Marit Bjoergen won 2.7 seconds ahead of Johaug, third went to Justyna Kowalczyk only by a hair's breadth, 18 seconds back. The Polish had to fight with heavy ski problems during the last kilometres and she even had to stop for a short moment and remove sticky snow under her ski. Anne Kyllönen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots) came in sixth, her team mate Kerttu Niskanen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots) finished ninth.

Again a tactical mistake
Not for the first time a Russian cross-country skier gave away a World Cup victory. Today it was Alexander Bessmertnykh (RUS) who skied into the stadium in leading position. Confident of victory he lifted his arms end cheered but Alexey Poltoranin never gave up and celebrated victory due to a higher residual speed and a big step torwards after photofinish decision. Dario Cologna (SUI, Fischer skis and boots) came in third. Hannes Dotzler (GER, Fischer) showed a great race and finished sixth ahead of Johan Olsson (SWE, Fischer). Sjur Roethe (NOR, Fischer), Giorgio di Centa (ITA, Fischer) and Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) were ranked eighth to tenth.
10k C Mass start Women, La Clusaz (FRA):
1. Marit Bjørgen
NOR 00.27.04,60
2. Therese Johaug
NOR 00.27.07,30
3. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 00.27.22,60
4. Masako Ishida
JPN 00.27.22,80
5. Heidi Weng
NOR 00.27.48,20
6. Anne Kyllönen
FIN 00.27.54,00
7. Aino Kaisa Saarinen
FIN 00.27.54,90
7. Kristin Störmer Steira
NOR 00.27.54,90
9. Kerttu Niskanen
FIN 00.27.59,10
10. Astrid Jacobsen
NOR 00.28.05,80
11. Emma Wiken
SWE 00.28.05,90
12. Katerina Smutna
AUT 00.28.11,90
13. Virginia de Martin Topranin
ITA 00.28.13,80
14. Riitta Roponen
FIN 00.28.16,00
15. Elizabeth Stephen
USA 00.28.18,40
15k C Mass start Men, La Clusaz (FRA):
1. Alexey Poltoranin
KAZ 00.37.11,60
2. Alexander Bessmertnykh
RUS 00.37.11,60
3. Dario Cologna
SUI 00.37.11,90
4. Didrik Tønseth
NOR 00.37.12,50
5. Alexander Legkov
RUS 00.37.12,90
6. Hannes Dotzler
GER 00.37.13,30
7. Johan Olsson
SWE 00.37.15,10
8. Sjur Röthe
NOR 00.37.17,50
9. Martin Johnsrud Sundby
NOR 00.37.17,80
9. Giorgio Di Centa
ITA 00.37.17,80
11. Ilia Chernousov
RUS 00.37.17,90
12. Dietmar Nöckler
ITA 00.37.18,20
13. Lukas Bauer
CZE 00.37.19,20
14. Eldar Rönning
NOR 00.37.20,10
15. Roland Clara
ITA 00.37.21,10