Miriam Gössner (GER)
Tora Berger (NOR), Miriam Gössner (GER), Andrea Henkel (GER) (l-r)
Miriam Gössner (GER)
Tora Berger (NOR)
Andrea Henkel (GER)
Dmitry Malyshko (RUS)
Evgeniy Garanichev (RUS), Dmitry Malyshko (RUS), Emil Svendsen (NOR) (l-r)


Miriam Gössner (GER, Fischer) succeeded in sprint race in Oberhof and celebrated her second World Cup victory in biathlon followed by Tora Berger (NOR, Fischer skis, boots and poles) and Andrea Henkel (GER, Fischer skis and boots). Dmitry Malyshko (RUS, Fischer) secured his first World Cup win ever at biathlon World Cup in Oberhof.
Victory despite two misses
Although she missed two targets in Oberhof dense fog Miriam Gössner was able to score her second World Cup win. The Basis of her success was the fastest skiing time of all athletes. Especially during the final round she increased her pace and won two seconds ahead of Tora Berger, although the Norwegian shot clear. Third went to Gössner's compatriot Andrea Henkel with clear shootings after she missed Thursday's relay due to sickness. Juliya Dzhyma (UKR, Fischer skis and boots) showed a great performance again as in relay and finished sixth ahead of Olga Vilukhina (RUS, Fischer). Nadine Horchler (GER, Fischer) finished ninth for the first time in her carreer, Darya Domracheva (BLR, Fischer skis and boots) came in tenth after missing four targets and second-fastest time in skiing.

Great Russian team performance
Russian biathlon team showed a great performance in sprint race in Oberhof. Despite a miss Dmitry Malyshko was able to triumphate and secured his first victory ever. The Russian left his team mate Evgeniy Garanichev (RUS) behind, Evgeny Ustyugov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) and Alexey Volkov (RUS, Fischer) came in fifth and sixth. Best Swede became Fredrik Lindström (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) in seventh position despite his two misses.
Sprint Women, Oberhof (GER):
1. Miriam Gössner
GER 2 00.21.17,20
2. Tora Berger
NOR 0 00.21.19,20
3. Andrea Henkel
GER 0 00.21.41,30
4. Marie Dorin Habert
FRA 0 00.21.45,70
5. Olga Zaitseva
RUS 1 00.21.47,40
6. Juliya Dzhyma
UKR 0 00.22.00,90
7. Olga Vilukhina
RUS 1 00.22.30,20
8. Anais Bescond
FRA 2 00.22.31,80
9. Nadine Horchler
GER 0 00.22.33,30
10. Darya Domracheva
BLR 4 00.22.33,50
11. Karin Oberhofer
ITA 1 00.22.36,10
12. Marie Laure Brunet
FRA 0 00.22.36,20
13. Vita Semerenko
UKR 2 00.22.41,40
14. Valj Semerenko
UKR 2 00.22.42,90
15. Nastassia Dubarezava
BLR 1 00.22.47,60
Sprint Herren, Oberhof (GER):
1. Dmitry Malyshko
RUS 1 00.25.07,90
2. Evgeniy Garanichev
RUS 1 00.25.20,50
3. Emil Hegle Svendsen
NOR 1 00.25.21,00
4. Alexis Bœuf
FRA 0 00.25.22,30
5. Evgeny Ustyugov
RUS 1 00.25.23,30
6. Alexey Volkov
RUS 0 00.25.28,90
7. Fredrik Lindström
SWE 2 00.25.36,60
8. Julian Eberhard
AUT 1 00.25.38,30
9. Benjamin Weger
SUI 1 00.25.40,10
10. Ole Einar Björndalen
NOR 1 00.25.42,90
11. Ondrej Moravec
CZE 2 00.25.44,40
12. Arnd Peiffer
GER 1 00.25.46,40
13. Anton Shipulin
RUS 2 00.25.48,30
14. Klemen Bauer
SLO 2 00.25.53,50
15. Simon Eder
AUT 1 00.25.56,20