Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR)
Alexey Petukhov (RUS), Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR), Paal Golberg (NOR) (l-r)
Kikkan Randall (USA)
Natalia Matveeva (RUS), Kikkan Randall (USA), Laurien van der Graaff (SUI) (l-r)


Kikkan Randall (USA, Fischer) and Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) were the best sprinters in today's competition in Duesseldorf. They won their finals without many problems.

Randall's first step in Sprint World Cup
Kikkan Randalls aim in this winter is to win the Sprint World Cup trophy. Today she did a first step in this direction and secured victory in the city-sprint in Duesseldorf. She won ahead of her new brand mate Natalia Matveeva (RUS, Fischer). The Russian was ahead at the beginning of the finish straight but Randall was besser in the finish stretch without using her poles. "The track in Duesseldorf is very narrow, there is always many crush but I found the right position. The athmosphere is fantastic", Randall said after the race. Another woman from Northern America, Chandra Crawford (CAN, Fischer skis and boots), finished fourth. Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR, Fischer) came in eighth ahead of Mia Eriksson (SWE, Fischer).

Hattestad ahead of Petukhov
Ola Vigen Hattestad and Alexey Petukhov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) celebrated another Fischer double-victory in men's sprint. The Norwegian controlled the race und watched the others while Petukhov betook himself to flight. In the finish stretch Hattestad took the victory ahead of Petukhov. "I knew that my shape was better as in Kuusamo. Therefore I'm happy with the result. I had phantastic skis today. I relaxed behind Petukhov for a long time but I made a few mistakes. 100 metres before finish I stumbled but I managed it", Hattestad said. Matias Strandvall (FIN, Fischer) just missed the final and finished seventh, Eirik Brandsdal (NOR, Fischer) came in tenth.

Men Sprint, Duesseldorf (GER):
1. Ola Vigen Hattestad
NOR 01
2. Alexey Petukhov
RUS 02
3. Paal Golberg
NOR 03
4. Anssi Pentsinen
FIN 04
5. Teodor Peterson
SWE 05
6. Federico Pellegrino
ITA 06
7. Matias Strandvall
FIN 07
8. Eligius Tambornino
SUI 08
9. Jöri Kindschi
SUI 09
10. Eirik Brandsdal
NOR 10
11. Martin Jaeger
SUI 11
12. Tomas Northug
NOR 12
13. Nikita Kriukov
RUS 13
14. Johan Kjoelstad
NOR 14
15. Martti Jylhae
FIN 15
Women Sprint, Duesseldorf (GER):
1. Kikkan Randall
USA 01
2. Natalia Matveeva
RUS 02
3. Laurien Van der Graaff
SUI 03
4. Chandra Crawford
CAN 04
5. Hanna Brodin
SWE 05
6. Riikka Sarasoja
FIN 06
7. Mona-Liisa Malvalehto
FIN 07
8. Maiken Caspersen Falla
NOR 08
9. Mia Eriksson
SWE 09
10. Ingvild Flugstad Oestberg
NOR 10
11. Hanna Kolb
GER 11
12. Mari Eide
NOR 12
13. Katja Visnar
SLO 13
14. Gaia Vuerich
ITA 14
15. Bettina Gruber
SUI 15