Anna Maria Nilsson (SWE), Darya Domracheva (BLR), Magdalena Neuner (GER) (l-r)
Darya Domracheva (BLR)
Magdalena Neuner (GER)


Darya Domracheva (BLR, Fischer skis and boots) celebrated a victory in the first competition of the Biathlon World Cup winter 11l12. She won the individual race ahead of Anna Maria Nilsson (SWE) and Magdalena Neuner (GER, Fischer skis and boots).

Domracheva fast in skiing
On the basis of a superb running performance Darya Domracheva celebrated a victory in the individual race in Oestersund. The Belarussian finished more than one minute ahead of all her opponents. Although she shot two penalties in heavy wind gusts she was fast enough to beat the  Swede Anna Maria Nilsson who received only one minute penalty. "I did the sprint in the IBU Cup last weekend and had six penalties. That took away all of my nerves today. On the second loop, I almost wanted to quit. I started fast like a sprint and suddenly, it was really hard", Domracheva said.


Magdalena Neuner finished third in the first race of the season. The Bavarian had to put up with three misses at the shooting range and remained 1:41 minutes behind Domracheva because her running performance was not as good as usual: "I'm satisfied with the ranking.  The running performance could be better, I am aware of that and expected it. I wanted to improve it during the first races and I hope I can continue this way."


Kaisa Mäkäräinen finished fourth (FIN, Fischer skis and boots), beiing the fastest athlete in skiing, but missed four targets, ahead of Olena Pidrushna (UKR, Fischer skis, boots and poles) with one miss. Helena Ekholm (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) finished in seventh place ahead of their brand colleagues Anastasiya Kuzmina (SVK, Fischer), Valj Semerenko (UKR, Fischer) and Ekaterina Yurlova (RUS, Fischer skis and boots).

Women 15km Individual, Oestersund (SWE):
1. Darya Domracheva
BLR 2 00.47.15,60
2. Anna Maria Nilsson
SWE 1 00.48.24,10
3. Magdalena Neuner
GER 3 00.48.57,30
4. Kaisa Mäkäräinen
FIN 4 00.49.12,60
5. Olena Pidhrushna
UKR 1 00.49.21,00
6. Franziska Hildebrand
GER 1 00.49.34,90
7. Helena Ekholm
SWE 3 00.49.43,10
8. Anastasiya Kuzmina
SVK 4 00.49.57,70
9. Valj Semerenko
UKR 3 00.50.07,20
10. Ekaterina Yurlova
RUS 3 00.50.08,90
11. Marie Dorin Habert
FRA 3 00.50.18,60
12. Teja Gregorin
SLO 4 00.50.24,80
13. Synnoeve Solemdal
NOR 5 00.50.41,90
14. Olga Zaitseva
RUS 5 00.51.01,90
15. Marie Laure Brunet
FRA 3 00.51.11,00