Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Charlotte Kalla (SWE), Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Vibeke Skofterud (NOR) (l-r)
Charlotte Kalla (SWE)
Anssi Pentsinen (FIN), Len Valjas (CAN (l-r)


Marit Bjoergen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) took her second victory in the second race of the season. Charlotte Kalla (SWE) and Vibeke Skofterud (NOR, both Fischer) finished on the podium, too.
Fischer athletes unbeatable again
The Fischer-athletes from Scandinavia raced in a class of their own in Kuusamo. Again, Marit Bjoergen's rivals just saw her from behind and she claimed victory with a clear edge ahead of their brand colleagues Charlotte Kalla and Vibeke Skofterud. The latter had run the fastest time in the prologue. "I am very happy with today's race. I didn't know my sprint shape but I see it is good. Tomorrow I want to go very fast and reach the podium again. Everything is possible", Bjoergen says. Kikkan Randall (USA, Fischer), Anne Kyllönen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots) and Natalia Matveeva (RUS, Fischer) in fourth to sixth place completed the absolute Fischer final. Katerina Smutna (AUT), Therese Johaug (NOR, both Fischer) and Katja Visnar (SLO, Fischer skis and boots) finished achieved seventh to ninth.

Brandsdal missed the podium
Eirik Brandsdal (NOR, Fischer) just missed the jump on the podium just by a hair's breadth. The Norwegian finished 4th behind the Swede Teodor Peterson, Nikita Kriukov from Russia and his Norwegian compatriot Oeystein Pettersen ahead of bis brand mates Len Valjas (CAN, Fischer) and Anssi Pentsinen (FIN, Fischer) in fifth and sixth place . Jesper Modin (SWE, Fischer) just fell short of reaching the finals. Alexey Petukhov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) finished 9th.
Women Sprint C, Kuusamo (FIN):
1. Marit Bjoergen
NOR 01
2. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 02
3. Vibeke W. Skofterud
NOR 03
4. Kikkan Randall
USA 04
5. Anne Kylloenen
FIN 05
6. Natalia Matveeva
RUS 06
7. Katerina Smutna
AUT 07
8. Therese Johaug
NOR 08
9. Katja Visnar
SLO 09
10. Hanna Brodin
SWE 10
11. Maiken Caspersen Falla
NOR 11
12. Nicole Fessel
GER 12
13. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 13
14. Daria Gaiazova
CAN 14
15. Ida Ingemarsdotter
SWE 15
Men Sprint C, Kuusamo (FIN):
1. Teodor Peterson
SWE 01
2. Nikita Kriukov
RUS 02
3. Oeystein Pettersen
NOR 03
4. Eirik Brandsdal
NOR 04
5. Len Valjas
CAN 05
6. Anssi Pentsinen
FIN 06
7. Jesper Modin
SWE 07
8. Nikolay Chebotko
KAZ 08
9. Alexey Petukhov
RUS 09
10. Ilia Chernousov
RUS 10
11. Dario Cologna
SUI 11
12. Timo Simonlatser
EST 12
13. Peeter Kummel
EST 13
14. Lasse Paakkonen
FIN 14
15. Anton Gafarov
RUS 15