Dario Cologna
Dario Cologna
(l-r) Heidi Weng, Charlotte Kalla, ThereseJohaug, Marit Bjoergen, Justyna Kowalczyk
Justyna Kowalczyk


Overall World Cup Winner Dario Cologna (SUI, Fischer) and Justyna Kowalczyk (POL, Fischer skis and boots) have won the third stage of the Mini-Tour in the cross country skiing World cup in Falun.

With double poling to victory

In the men’s 15 kilometers classic mass start race Dario Cologna took the victory again after a hard fight. He won in a sprint to the finish line with double poling against Eldar Roenning, who was running in diagonal technique. A week ago Roenning still could beat Cologna on the Holmenkollen in Oslo. "The finish was similar to Oslo but I had higher speed this time. It was nice to take revenge on Eldar", Cologna explained after his victory. Len Valjas (CAN, Fischer) came in third. The next places went to Niklas Dyrhaug (NOR, Fischer), Devon Kershaw (CAN, Fischer) and Jean Marc Gaillard (FRA, Fischer skis and boots). Cologna could also take over the overall lead in the Mini-Tour thanks to his success today.

Dominating Kowalczyk

As known from the last race of the women, shortly after the start of the 10 kilometers mass start race the best racers broke away from the rest of the starting field. Out of this four women group Justyna Kowalczyk ran to a safely victory. "It was a good race today, track ok, skis amazing, the reason I was so fast. In the classical technique it is nice to ski up the Mörderbacken", Kowalczyk said after the race. Heidi Weng (NOR) could take second place in the sprint to the finish line against her teammate Therese Johaug (NOR, Fischer). Marit Bjoergen (Fischer skis and boots) showed unusual weakness and came in fourth. Fifth and sixth place went to Kristin Steira (NOR9 and Charlotte Kalla (SWE, Fischer).  

15km mass start C in Falun (SWE):
1. Dario Cologna
SUI 00.43.14,90
2. Eldar Roenning
NOR 00.43.15,30
3. Len Valjas
CAN 00.43.16,10
4. Niklas Dyrhaug
NOR 00.43.16,70
5. Devon Kershaw
CAN 00.43.17,80
6. Jean Marc Gaillard
FRA 00.43.19,00
7. Martin Johnsrud Sundby
NOR 00.43.20,80
8. Evgeniy Belov
RUS 00.43.22,10
9. Roland Clara
ITA 00.43.24,80
10. Petr Sedov
RUS 00.43.33,10
11. Sergey Turychev
RUS 00.43.36,10
12. Jens Filbrich
GER 00.43.38,50
13. Maxim Vylegzhanin
RUS 00.43.48,90
14. Giorgio Di Centa
ITA 00.43.49,20
15. Tobias Angerer
GER 00.43.51,90
10km mass start C in Falun (SWE):
1. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 00.32.03,70
2. Heidi Weng
NOR 00.32.19,00
3. Therese Johaug
NOR 00.32.20,00
4. Marit Bjoergen
NOR 00.32.25,40
5. Kristin Stoermer Steira
NOR 00.33.09,70
6. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 00.33.15,30
7. Maiken Caspersen Falla
NOR 00.33.16,00
8. Marthe Kristoffersen
NOR 00.33.16,40
9. Martine Ek Hagen
NOR 00.33.16,60
10. Anna Haag
SWE 00.33.18,70
11. Krista Lahteenmaki
FIN 00.33.24,70
12. Anne Kylloenen
FIN 00.33.24,80
13. Katrin Zeller
GER 00.33.25,50
14. Kikkan Randall
USA 00.33.25,90
15. Nicole Fessel
GER 00.33.26,90