Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Therese Johaug (NOR), Justyna Kowalczyk (POL)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Therese Johaug (NOR)


Marit Bjoergen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) secured her 54th World Cup victory at Holmenkollen in Oslo. The Norwegian won clearly ahead of Justyna Kowalczyk (POL, Fischer skis and boots) and Therese Johaug (NOR, Fischer).
Favorites are early unbeatable
Although the three ladies on podium were early fixed the 30k classic mass start became an exciting and varied race. The decision about the podium was made already at the intermediate sprint after 2.7 kilometres when the three favorites forced the pace and noone was able to follow. The other athletes competed in small groups with two or three girls up to the finish. In front it became an exciting fight between the three favorites but Therese Johaug was faced with problems to keep the pace early in the race. A change of skis was not able to help her and she dropped back from the leading group.

Bjoergen storms up and away
In the middle of the race Justyna Kowalczyk wasn't able to follow Bjoergen after she catched all 15 bonus points at the first two bonus sprints. At the third sprint after round about 15 kilometres she didn't fight against Bjoergen and dropped back after the sprint. Soon her gap was quite high with 25 seconds while Johaug was already 45 seconds back at this moment. But the Norwegian never gave up, she fighted against the Polish and shortened the gap second by second. Three kilometres before finish Johaug closed the gap. Everything looked like a second place for the Norwegian but Kowalczyk never let her escape. Both were fighting up to the finish line where Kowalczyk celebrated second place. Johaug wasn't able to succeed although her team mate Vibeke Skofterud (NOR, Fischer) who didn't start due to a ellbow injury after Vasaloppet cheered her very much in the stadium. Charlotte Kalla (SWE, Fischer) finished ninth.
Women 30km C Mst, Oslo (NOR):
1. Marit Bjoergen
NOR 01.26.09,80
2. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 01.27.01,70
3. Therese Johaug
NOR 01.27.03,10
4. Kristin Stoermer Steira
NOR 01.29.09,20
5. Masako Ishida
JPN 01.29.21,60
6. Marthe Kristoffersen
NOR 01.30.10,40
7. Nicole Fessel
GER 01.30.26,00
8. Heidi Weng
NOR 01.31.17,50
9. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 01.31.33,30
10. Anna Haag
SWE 01.31.43,00
11. Julia Ivanova
RUS 01.31.56,70
12. Anne Kylloenen
FIN 01.32.00,10
13. Maiken Caspersen Falla
NOR 01.32.01,50
14. Sofia Bleckur
SWE 01.32.06,50
15. Laura Ahervo
FIN 01.32.08,20