Darya Domracheva
(l-r) Magdalena Neuner, Darya Domracheva, Olga Vilukhina
Daniel Mesotitsch
Magdalena Neuner
Olga Vilukhina (RUS)


Darya Domracheva (BLR, Fischer skis and boots) has won the gold medal in the Biathlon pursuit race at the World Championships in Ruhpolding by beating Magdalena Neuner (GER, Fischer skis and boots). Daniel Mesotitsch (AUT, Fischer skis and boots) took fourth place in the men’s pursuit competition.
Last shooting decides the race
Darya Domracheva is the new Biathlon Pursuit World Champion. She beat Magdalena Neuner, who was leading the race until the last shooting. At that point the German missed two targets and had to let the eventual winner go. "Thats what I dreamed of since I started skiing when I was 6 years old. This dream has become true today", Domracheva said after the race. Third place went to surprising Russian Olga Vilukhina (Fischer). Fourth and fifth place were taken by Tora Berger (NOR, Fischer skis, boots and poles) and Helena Ekholm (SWE, Fischer skis and boots).

Fourcade defends lead
The men’s pursuit competition was won by Martin Fourcade (FRA), who won the sprint yesterday as well. Despite four missed targets he could enforce against Carl Johan Bergman on the last lap. Third place was taken by Russian Anton Shipulin. Daniel Mesotitsch took fourth place, Simon Fourcade (FRA, Fischer skis and boots) placed sixth. After the competition, Simon Fourcade only praised his brother: “The fact that Martin has won today despite four penalty loops is incredible and a great achievement. He is a great champion. It’s great that he is a double world champion already. My parents watch the races on a big screen with lots of friends and family. They celebrate the two titles of their son. I’m very happy for my brother!”
Men 12,5 km Verfolgung Ruhpolding:
1. Martin Fourcade
FRA 4 00.33.39,40
2. Carl Johan Bergman
SWE 2 00.33.44,60
3. Anton Shipulin
RUS 1 00.34.01,50
4. Daniel Mesotitsch
AUT 2 00.34.07,80
5. Emil Hegle Svendsen
NOR 4 00.34.24,80
6. Simon Fourcade
FRA 3 00.34.32,40
7. Tarjei Boe
NOR 3 00.34.38,70
8. Jakov Fak
SLO 3 00.34.45,60
9. Simon Schempp
GER 2 00.34.46,10
10. Fredrik Lindström
SWE 4 00.34.50,90
11. Björn Ferry
SWE 3 00.35.00,30
12. Andreas Birnbacher
GER 3 00.35.00,40
13. Lukas Hofer
ITA 3 00.35.06,20
14. Evgeniy Garanichev
RUS 4 00.35.08,60
15. Ondrej Moravec
CZE 4 00.35.15,00
Damen 10 km Verfolgung Ruhpolding:
1. Darya Domracheva
BLR 2 00.29.39,60
2. Magdalena Neuner
GER 3 00.30.04,70
3. Olga Vilukhina
RUS 1 00.30.55,40
4. Tora Berger
NOR 3 00.31.05,40
5. Helena Ekholm
SWE 2 00.31.07,90
6. Marie Laure Brunet
FRA 2 00.31.10,70
7. Olga Zaitseva
RUS 1 00.31.38,20
8. Vita Semerenko
UKR 3 00.31.45,30
9. Marie Dorin Habert
FRA 1 00.31.57,90
10. Anna Maria Nilsson
SWE 0 00.32.01,90
11. Andrea Henkel
GER 0 00.32.13,10
12. Teja Gregorin
SLO 2 00.32.15,50
13. Selina Gasparin
SUI 2 00.32.24,50
14. Tina Bachmann
GER 3 00.32.29,20
15. Magdalena Gwizdon
POL 0 00.32.44,00