Jakov Fak
Jakov Fak
Neuner Birnbacher
(l-r) Magdalena Neuner, Andreas Birnbacher
Tora Berger
Tora Berger


After a protest and a time credit given by the jury to the Norwegian Biathlon Mixed-Team has won the gold medal at the World Championships in Ruhpolding. Tora Berger (Fischer skis, boots and poles) already made a big move towards the victory on the first leg.

Quick start, bad luck, happy end

Tora Berger as the athlete on the first leg had put big pressure on her rivals by running fast and shooting fast and clean. She handed over a huge time gap to her colleague Synnoeve Solemdal, who could defend the first position. But after that Ole Einar Bjoerndalen had to do a penalty loop after his standing shooting and Norway dropped back into second position. But already during the race after a protest by the Norwegian team it turned out that his miss was just because of a broken target. So it was unimportant that Emil Hegle Svendsen crossed the finish line in second place. Thanks to a time credit of 25 seconds the Norwegians were awarded the World Championship title.


Surprise Slovenia, bad luck for Germany

The biggest surprise of the day was definitely the Slovenian team. Andreja Mali, Teja Gregorin, Klemen Bauer and Jakov Fak (all Fischer) speeded forward to first place at the finish line and were just put to second place because of the time credit for Norway. Also the German team was unlucky. Arnd Peiffer (Fischer) came to the last shooting in first position but had to go for one penalty loop afterwards. So he and his colleagues Andrea Henkel, Magdalena Neuner (both Fischer skis and boots) and Andi Birnbacher (Fischer) dropped back to third position.     

Mixed Staffel 2x6+2x7.5 km Ruhpolding (GER):
1. Tora Berger
NOR 0+0 0+0 1:12:29.3
1. Synnoeve Solemdal
NOR 0+1 0+3 1:12:29.3
1. Ole Einar Bjoerndalen
NOR 0+2 1+3 1:12:29.3
1. Emil Hegle Svendsen
NOR 0+0 0+2 1:12:29.3
2. Andreja Mali
SLO 0+1 0+0 1:12:49.5
2. Teja Gregorin
SLO 0+1 0+0 1:12:49.5
2. Klemen Bauer
SLO 0+3 0+2 1:12:49.5
2. Jakov Fak
SLO 0+0 0+0 1:12:49.5
3. Andrea Henkel
GER 0+2 0+1 1:13:02.1
3. Magdalena Neuner
GER 0+1 0+2 1:13:02.1
3. Andreas Birnbacher
GER 0+0 0+0 1:13:02.1
3. Arnd Peiffer
GER 0+1 1+3 1:13:02.1
4. Anna Maria Nilsson
SWE 0+1 0+2 1:13:29.3
4. Helena Ekholm
SWE 0+0 0+0 1:13:29.3
4. Björn Ferry
SWE 0+2 0+1 1:13:29.3
4. Lindström Fredrik
SWE 0+1 0+2 1:13:29.3