Bernhard Gruber (AUT)
Eric Frenzel (GER)


Bernhard Gruber (AUT, Fischer skis and boots) celebrated victory at Nordic Combined World Cup in Liberec. The Austrian won ahead of Eric Frenzel (GER, Fischer).
Bad weather prediction
The whole World Cup weekend in Liberec was ill-fated: The long hill wasn't prepared as good as necessary so the FIS switched the competition to normal hill. Although the weather prediction wasn't so good due to strong winds. Narrowly all 57 athletes were able to make their jumps in provisional competition round and after that competition round wasn't started. With the result of the PCR Bernhard Gruber started together with one of his team mates into the cross country race and left him behind soon. According to a surspringly great pace in skiing noone was able to beat the Austrian. He won ahead 22 seconds ahead of Eric Frenzel. "There were very difficult conditions. We had to be patient in ski jumping but it was worth it. It was very windy but we had to do our job. I started to fast in the first two laps and that's why the last lap became very hard", said Gruber.

Watabe shortened the gap
Mikko Kokslien (NOR, Fischer) was able to finish fourth after a good skiing performance and after starting in 17th position. Fifth went to Akito Watabe (JPN, Fischer skis and boots) who shortened the gap in Overall ranking against Jason Lamy Chappuis a bit. The gap is now 203 points. Jan Schmid (NOR, Fischer skis, boots and poles) came in sixth ahead of Havard Klemetsen (NOR, Fischer). Lukas Runggaldier (ITA, Fischer) finished eighth followed by Björn Kircheisen (GER, Fischer skis and boots).
Gundersen, Liberec (CZE):
1. Bernhard Gruber
AUT 00.27.29,60
2. Eric Frenzel
GER 00.27.51,60
3. Wilhelm Denifl
AUT 00.27.54,80
4. Mikko Kokslien
NOR 00.28.04,10
5. Akito Watabe
JPN 00.28.25,60
6. Jan Schmid
NOR 00.28.28,00
7. Haavard Klemetsen
NOR 00.28.32,30
8. Lukas Runggaldier
ITA 00.28.36,40
9. Björn Kircheisen
GER 00.28.40,80
10. Sebastien Lacroix
FRA 00.28.56,50
11. Jörgen Graabak
NOR 00.29.07,30
12. Johannes Rydzek
GER 00.29.07,60
13. Miroslav Dvorak
CZE 00.29.09,00
14. Bill Demong
USA 00.29.13,10
15. Maxime Laheurte
FRA 00.29.19,10