Devon Kershaw (CAN)
Devon Kershaw (CAN)
Nikolai Morilov (RUS), Devon Kershaw (CAN), Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR) (l-r)
Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR)
Kikkan Randall (USA)
Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR), Ida Ingemarsdotter (SWE), Kikkan Randall (USA)


Free sprint races in Szklarska Poreba were very exciting. Often the athletes tumbled or made tactical mistakes. Therefor Devon Kershaw (CAN, Fischer) was able to celebrate his second World Cup victory this season.
Randall tumbles and finishes third
Kikkan Randall (USA, Fischer) showed a great performance after she was in bad shape after Tour de Ski and stomach problems last week. It seemed to become another sprint victory during quarter- and semifinal but in the final the American tumbled and dropped back. She continued fighting and closed the gap due to a slow pace and sprinted for victory. Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR, Fischer) finished second ahead of Randall after a photo finish decision. Fourth went to Laure Barthelemy (FRA, Fischer skis and boots) who lost her first podium outcome at the last metres. Astrid Jacobsen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) came in fifth followed by Natalia Matveeva (RUS, Fischer). Eighth came to Vesna Fabjan (SLO, Fischer), Alena Prochazkova (SVK, Fischer) and Alenka Cebasek (SLO, Fischer) finished tenth and twelfth.

The favorites with local hero Justyna Kowalczyk (POL, Fischer skis and boots) and Marit Bjoergen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) failed early in the race during the quarterfinals finishing third and fifth in a strong heat. In Sprint World Cup Kikkan Randall reigned supreme.

Kershaw benefits of Russian faux pas
Nearly nobody reckoned with Devon Kershaw's victory in men's final - accept himself. Russian Morilov was far ahead and seemed to be the safe winner but the Canadian benefitted of a faux pas of him. The Russian turned around round about ten metres before finish to his right side and noone was close behind him. He cheered for victory and lost sight of Kershaw who was on his left side. The Canadian was able to celebrate victory.

Third went to Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) ahead of Matias Strandvall (FIN, Fischer). The fastest man in prologue, Anders Gloeersen (NOR, Fischer), finished in sixth. Dario Cologna (SUI, Fischer) came in eigth while Eirik Brandsdal (NOR, Fischer) finished tenth. Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS, Fischer) and Alexei Petukhov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) were ranked eleventh and twelfth.
Men Sprint FT Szklarska Poreba (POL):
1. Devon Kershaw
CAN 01
2. Nikolay Morilov
RUS 02
3. Ola Vigen Hattestad
NOR 03
4. Matias Strandvall
FIN 04
5. Roddy Darragon
FRA 05
6. Anders Gloersen
NOR 06
7. Teodor Peterson
SWE 07
8. Dario Cologna
SUI 08
9. Federico Pellegrino
ITA 09
10. Eirik Brandsdal
NOR 10
11. Maxim Vylegzhanin
RUS 11
12. Alexey Petukhov
RUS 12
13. Baptiste Gros
FRA 13
14. Martin Jaeger
SUI 14
15. Loris Frasnelli
ITA 15
Women Sprint FT Szklarska Poreba (POL):
1. Ida Ingemarsdotter
SWE 01
2. Maiken Caspersen Falla
NOR 02
3. Kikkan Randall
USA 03
4. Laure Barthelemy
FRA 04
5. Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen
NOR 05
6. Natalia Matveeva
RUS 06
7. Hanna Brodin
SWE 07
8. Vesna Fabjan
SLO 08
9. Katrin Zeller
GER 09
10. Alena Prochazkova
SVK 10
11. Denise Herrmann
GER 11
12. Alenka Cebasek
SLO 12
13. Ingvild Flugstad Oestberg
NOR 13
14. Laurien Van der Graaff
SUI 14
15. Heidi Weng
NOR 15