Devon Kershaw (CAN)
Devon Kershaw (CAN)
Marit Bjoergen (NOR)
Charlotte Kalla (SWE)


Devon Kershaw (CAN, Fischer) secured a World Cup win in mass start in Rybinsk. In women's race Marit Bjoergen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) celebrated her 50th World Cup win ever ahead of Charlotte Kalla (SWE, Fischer).
Accelerated tempo in the last lap
In men's 15k free mass start the athletes had to race at -19.3°C and the speed was quite moderate during the first laps. The pace was set by a large group of Russians in addition to the Italians, Canadians and Germans. During the last lap outside the stadium the Russians increased the speed and only a few athletes were able to follow. In the final stretch Devon Kershaw corfirmed his great shape from Moscow and celebrated a victory. Alex Harvey (CAN, Fischer) finished fifth ahead of Petr Sedov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots). Thomas Moriggl (ITA, Fischer) came in eighth followed by his team mate Valerio Checchi (ITA, Fischer).

50th victory in a very cold race
It was a very fast race up to the start and soon there were nine women ahead. In the third lap Justyna Kowalczyk (POl, Fischer skis and boots) secured first position in intermediate sprint but after that she felt out of contention. Marit Bjoergen and Charlotte Kalla increased the pace and stayed toegther until the final stretch. In the last corner the Norwegian started an attack and celebrated her 50th World Cup win. Therese Johaug (NOR, Fischer) lost the final sprint for third position and finished fourth. Riitta Liisa Roponen (FIN, Fischer skis and boots) came in sixth ahead of Justyna Kowalczyk who had to hand over the Overall World Cup lead to Bjoergen again. Astrid Jacobsen (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) and Vibeke Skofterud (NOR, Fischer) finished eighth and tenth.
Men mass start, Rybinsk (RUS):
1. Devon Kershaw
CAN 00.36.47,50
2. Ilia Chernousov
RUS 00.36.48,40
3. Tobias Angerer
GER 00.36.49,10
4. Alexander Legkov
RUS 00.36.50,70
5. Alex Harvey
CAN 00.36.53,00
6. Petr Sedov
RUS 00.36.55,30
7. Konstantin Glavatskikh
RUS 00.36.56,10
8. Thomas Moriggl
ITA 00.36.56,30
9. Valerio Checchi
ITA 00.36.57,50
10. Sergey Turychev
RUS 00.36.57,60
11. Michail Semenov
RUS 00.36.59,10
12. Alexander Bessmertnykh
RUS 00.36.59,60
13. Evgeniy Belov
RUS 00.36.59,80
14. Jens Filbrich
GER 00.37.00,20
15. Roland Clara
ITA 00.37.01,10
Women mass start, Rybinsk (RUS):
1. Marit Bjoergen
NOR 00.26.43,90
2. Charlotte Kalla
SWE 00.26.48,00
3. Marthe Kristoffersen
NOR 00.27.03,30
4. Therese Johaug
NOR 00.27.03,40
5. Jessica Diggins
USA 00.27.10,20
6. Riita-Liisa Roponen
FIN 00.27.18,50
7. Justyna Kowalczyk
POL 00.27.22,80
8. Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen
NOR 00.27.24,70
9. Heidi Weng
NOR 00.27.25,00
10. Vibeke W. Skofterud
NOR 00.27.25,10
11. Katrin Zeller
GER 00.27.25,40
12. Maria Rydqvist
SWE 00.27.25,90
13. Olga Rotcheva
RUS 00.27.27,50
14. Aino Kaisa Saarinen
FIN 00.27.29,90
15. Larisa Shaidurova
RUS 00.27.36,10