Björn Kircheisen (GER)
Mikko Kokslien (NOR)


Björn Kircheisen (GER, Fischer skis and boots) and Mikko Kokslien (NOR, Fischer skis and boots) showed a great performance in skiing and almost closed the gap to the leader in penalty race in Val di Fiemme.
Kircheisen and Kokslien moved up to podium
In Val di Fiemme was held a penalty race on Friday which was rescheduled from Zakopane. Once again the World Cup leader Lamy Chappuis took the lead. He escaped together with Akito Watabe (JPN, Fischer skis and boots) from the leading group and won the race a few seconds ahead of the chasing group. Björn Kircheisen and Mikko Kokslien both picked up two penalties in ski jump but with a great skiing performance they moved up more and more and nearly closed the gap to the Frenchman.

Great German team effort
Like in Lillehammer the German team had the best team tactic in this kind of competition and they controlled the race with five athletes in the chasing group. In addition to Kircheisen Eric Frenzel (GER, Fischer) was in the chasing group behind the Frenchman but the young German missed the podium shortly. Akito Watabe was catched by the group before the stadium and finished fifth ahead of the Germans Fabian Riessle and Johannes Rydzek (both GER, Fischer skis and boots). The best athlete in ski jump, Bernhard Gruber (AUT, Fischer skis and boots) came in eighth.The Italian local hero Alessandro Pittin (ITA, Fischer skis and boots) showed a great skiing performance despite his training accident two weeks ago and finished tenth.
Penalty Race, Val di Fiemme (ITA):
1. Jason Lamy Chappuis
FRA 00.26.58,60
2. Björn Kircheisen
GER 00.27.03,90
3. Mikko Kokslien
NOR 00.27.04,00
4. Eric Frenzel
GER 00.27.04,90
5. Akito Watabe
JPN 00.27.09,60
6. Fabian Riessle
GER 00.27.11,50
7. Johannes Rydzek
GER 00.27.18,20
8. Bernhard Gruber
AUT 00.27.24,80
9. Magnus Moan
NOR 00.27.37,30
10. Alessandro Pittin
ITA 00.27.38,40
11. Tino Edelmann
GER 00.27.42,10
12. Lukas Runggaldier
ITA 00.27.42,90
13. Wilhelm Denifl
AUT 00.27.44,90
14. Bryan Fletcher
USA 00.27.46,40
15. Pavel Churavy
CZE 00.27.57,40