Fredrik Lindström (SWE)
Fredrik Lindström (SWE)
Andreas Birnbacher (GER)
Arnd Peiffer (GER)


To the surprise of all Fredrik Lindström (SWE, Fischer skis and boots) secured victory in sprint race in Anterselva. It was his first World Cup win ever.
Lindström unbeatable
Fredrik Lindström increased his results a lot since the last winter - that's no secret. But his first World Cup victory ever in today's sprint race was a bit surprising. The Swede cleared all ten targets showed a great running performance especially in the last lap spurred on his coaches. "When I was 15 seconds ahead during the last lap I noticed that it was passible to win today. Absolutely exciting, it was a great race for me", said Lindström. He secured victory with a 18 seconds margin ahead of the second and third placers.

Birnbacher and Peiffer missed the podium
The German biathletes Andreas Birnbacher and Arnd Peiffer (both GER, Fischer) shortly missed the podium, they came in fourth and fifth. Peiffer cleared all targets, Birnbacher picked up one penalty but he claimed the fastest skiing time. "In Nove Mesto my skiing became better and better from race to race and now I am in a great shape as you could see today. I am satisfied with the race, at the moment I am as good as never before in skiing. My training pays off and if you fight for a podium it is a good feeling", said Birnbacher. Peiffer finished the race with a positive feeling, too, although he fighted for victory after the last shooting. "I am satisfied, I made the most of the situation. In skiing I felt not so good, especially in the last lap it was very hard. I had good luck because Flo (Florian Graf) was with me", Peiffer told. "It was not my best day in skiing, it was really a cruelty. But I am satisfied when I can reach a top ten result at such a day." Evgeny Ustyugov (RUS, Fischer skis and boots) finished sixth followed by his brand mate Björn Ferry (SWE, Fischer skis and boots). Jakov Fak (SLO, Fischer) came in ninth.
Men sprint, Anterselva (ITA):
1. Fredrik Lindström
SWE 0 00.24.37,90
2. Evgeniy Garanichev
RUS 0 00.24.56,10
3. Martin Fourcade
FRA 0 00.24.57,00
4. Andreas Birnbacher
GER 1 00.25.01,10
5. Arnd Peiffer
GER 0 00.25.05,80
6. Evgeny Ustyugov
RUS 1 00.25.24,60
7. Björn Ferry
SWE 0 00.25.25,90
8. Anton Shipulin
RUS 2 00.25.36,20
9. Jakov Fak
SLO 0 00.25.36,90
10. Lukas Hofer
ITA 2 00.25.39,00
10. Benjamin Weger
SUI 1 00.25.39,00
12. Tim Burke
USA 2 00.25.41,90
13. Andrei Makoveev
RUS 2 00.25.45,10
14. Michal Slesingr
CZE 1 00.25.45,60
15. Serguei Sednev
UKR 0 00.25.46,70